Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Recommended First Balsa Kit

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
neil martin 124/12/2018 14:54:57
26 forum posts
9 photos

Looking for some advice. Ive been flying over 10 years and would consider myself a competent pilot (B Level) but have never built anything. Im always in awe of the aircraft on the showline at the Nationals and other events I visit and would ultimately love to produce something of that scale in years to come. After some research, I can see that my question has been answered many times. I suppose im looking for some modern UK opinions as lots of rcgroups/universe appear from google searches. If there are any links available to this subject then Id be grateful if you could send them.

What is a good beginner warbird kit for a total newbie? I understand that I should maybe start with a high wing trainer of some type, but my flying skills are passed that and it is ultimately a warbird that will drive me on to produce the end result as I have a keen interest in them.

Thanks in advance.

Brian Hammond24/12/2018 15:02:11
316 forum posts

Why not try something simple for a start like the SLEC Limbo Dancer ,most of the parts are laser cut and they are British made,and good fun to fly ,pun intended!

Ian Moody24/12/2018 15:55:37
78 forum posts
10 photos

The Topflite P47 Thunderbolt is a nice and easy kit to build with a great instruction book included and it looks good and fly's nicely as well. It might be tricky to get one but it's worth it.

kc24/12/2018 15:59:43
6080 forum posts
169 photos

There is so much work in a scale model that it would be better to start with a sports model. I would suggest the Limbo Dancer or the SLEC Fun Fly which are much quicker to build and useful as hack models or for engine running in.

Equally good would be the Gangster 63 Lite from Mick Reeves.

Percy Verance24/12/2018 16:48:00
8108 forum posts
155 photos