Forum sponsored by CML

Warped wings

Advice welcomed

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Tim Saddler26/02/2019 13:09:48
3 forum posts

Hi all,
Just needing some advice on old school balsa and tissue construction method.
I'm building rubber powered 24-36 inch span models.
I've been doing this hobby for 45 years (did have a break for 30 years!) but i've never really managed to guarantee getting built up wings in line at the covering stage.
Before covering they seem in line but after applying 50/50 thinned dope i seem to end up with warping sometimes insignificant, sometimes horrendous.
Do people pin the wing down when applying the dope?
I've tried this and it helps on the top surface of a flat wing chord.
Not sure how you would do this for the bottom surface.

kc26/02/2019 19:13:00
5883 forum posts
168 photos

Hello Tim. Nobody seems to have answered your question yet! Very strange that the forum experts have not replied yet.....

I don't use tissue and dope on small built up wings so I cannot give a useful answer, but I think people do pin them down with spacers whilst the dope dries. No doubt someone else will help a bit more.

Most of us use iron on film for moderate size wings - the film from HobbyKing is a favourite now that Solarfilm is no longer made.

GrahamWh26/02/2019 20:19:36
355 forum posts
53 photos

Hi Tim,

If I remember rightly I have held the wing off the desk on balsa blocks and placed suitable weights on top at sensible positions above spars etc while the dope dries. I think I must have stopped the blocks sticking by having sellotape on them and moving them a little half way through. It's been a while though. Still have a lot of dope left in the workshop which I may never use again!

My last tissue covered model was an SE5a at 26" wingspan for electric power, before that an Aerographics Sopwith Camel adapted for RC.

Bert26/02/2019 20:46:46
511 forum posts
7 photos