Forum sponsored by CML

Spektrum DX7

Old radio?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
David Price 1128/07/2019 18:53:45
1 forum posts

Hi there,

I have been flying for many years, I passed my A cert on my 9th birthday and am now 35 haha. I have a Spektrum DX7 and just curious as things have developed so much in recent years if I'm best to buy a new transmitter?

I was flying regularly until about 3.5 years ago.

If recommend to replace it is the any recommendations from anyone?

Thanks

David

Chris Walby28/07/2019 20:14:42
1004 forum posts
236 photos

Hi,

I have a DX8 gen 1 and it works okay + Al's Models can service it and make sure its okay and will probably include a firmware update as part of the service (did for me).

I bought a DX8 gen 2 as my gen one did not like lemon 6 channel RX's and it seems better, but I only trust it with very small foam models. Now the price of RX is back down to normal its not an issue.

DX8 gen one can do DSM2 and DSMX RX's, but all new TX will only do DSMX RX's

Just have to be careful with the second hand market as there are very poor copies out there (if the deal seems to good to be true, then it probably is!).

Main thing with the new TX's and RX's is that telemetry is built in..if you need it.

Denis Watkins28/07/2019 20:20:05
3914 forum posts
61 photos

Check this thread David about Tx change

**LINK**

Peter Miller28/07/2019 21:01:56
10271 forum posts
1226 photos
10 articles

I bought one of the first Spektrum DX7s in the country, must be at least 10 years ago.

It is still my number one transmitter so why change?

In fact Ibought another when Horizon was moving so I ha a spare and I still keep that ready.

Trevor Crook29/07/2019 06:34:48
868 forum posts
65 photos

My DX7 is still going strong, original battery is even still good. I don't use it much now as I find my Gen 1 DX8 easier to program, and it will still work my DSM2 Rx's - I think later Gen 1 DX8's had DSM2 disabled.