Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

JP Albatross Glider

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Roger 219/11/2008 16:54:00
145 forum posts
7 photos

I have a query for one of you bright chaps out there, I am rather new to electric flight and usually fly IC power. I got the above mentioned glider to carry in our motor home on our travels across Europe.

I recently took it to my local club field for a relaxing flight (tempted by blue skies),  It helps if the TX is programmed for the same plane you are flying.

I need a replacement for the motor (it had to land pointy bit first, at a rate of knots).

The motor has only HRS550S-8819F      DC7.2v. written on it ........(I suspect it's a Speed 600)

Any suggestions ? The LiPo flight pack and the ESC are all ok; God knows how.

Thanking you all in advance 

Roger 

simon barr19/11/2008 17:56:00
1032 forum posts
16 photos

Hello Roger,

Although you can replace a Can type motor for a few quid, it may be worth spending just a little more on an Outrunner.  Have a look at BRC Hobbies, I'm sure you will find something suitable there. You will, of course also need to change the ESC, but again they need not be too expensive.

Tim Mackey19/11/2008 17:59:00
20919 forum posts
304 photos
15 articles

Well that is a speed 600 motor yes, so unless you fancy going brushless ( which means a new ESC also however brushless motor /ESC combos are real cheap these days ) then its a speeed 600 you need.

See here for either brushed or brushless deals

this would probably be Ok as brushless replacement with a bigger prop on

Simon.....posted at same time as you mate !

simon barr19/11/2008 18:17:00
1032 forum posts
16 photos
Got to be quick here, Timbo...
Roger 219/11/2008 20:59:00
145 forum posts
7 photos

Hi Simon , Hi Timbo