Flair Cub Kit.

Kit building thread by Simon N.

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Simon N11/07/2009 16:12:07
176 forum posts
117 photos
Hello all,
I am returning to model flying after a long layoff, and have decided to build a Flair Cub kit.
I built and flew one before in the 1990's .... albeit with a foam wing, so I thought it would be a nice steady model to start me off again.
This time however I have gone for the built up wing version, as I have never built a wing before, so I am looking forward to it
I have decided to do a build thread as the mods suggeted, so any comments, help or advice will be gratefully recieved

Here is a photo of my first cub.
Irvine Q40 powered and Futaba 4ch radio.
I really enjoyed building and flying it, and used it to pass my BMFA "A" .
A very stable plane, great for learning on .... I used to like doing touch ' n ' goes on that floaty wing, long lazy loops and stall turns ... lovely

Right ... starting at the beginning ... this is what you get for your money.

All Balsa and Liteply parts are good quality, no warped bits ( allways a help !! )
and the kit contains just about everything you need to make the model ... wheels, tank, horns, linkages, pushrod and u/c wires etc ...

Ok thats the introduction over, so on with the build 

Edited By Simon N on 11/07/2009 16:16:36

Stephen Grigg11/07/2009 16:41:30
8691 forum posts
1128 photos
Built one over the winter,yet to fly it,have it on a stand for finishing off.Had a problem with the wing placement,kept slidng to far back when I fitted rubber bands.Fixed mine by putting a wooden block at the back underside of the wing so the 3wing cant slide back.After Ud fitted the wings I could see a bit more finishing was needed,itll be for when the sun and no wind returns
Simon N11/07/2009 22:48:33
176 forum posts
117 photos
The first job is to join the front and rear fuselage side panels together.