Forum sponsored by CML

Wankel engines

does anybody know about them?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Phil Claridge14/03/2010 09:23:47
1924 forum posts
32 photos
just off to collect a cessna with a gummed up wankel engine,does anyone know much about them ie starting up, tuning or taking them apart. i bought this because i like the odd thingsthat appear in this hobby. i want to get it started and see if ican get plane and engine upstairs again. any help will be much appreciated regards phil
Ultymate14/03/2010 09:43:07
1703 forum posts
62 photos
The critical component (downfall) of the Wankel engine has always been the tip seals on the rotor so much so that the early NSU RO80s came with the allowance of one free engine per customer. Mazda seem to think they have the issue resolved as they have a Wankel engined car on the market although if you do a google you'll find several companies already offering engine rebuilds . I've no experience with the model version at all so good luck Phil, the big attraction is no reciprocating parts hence little or no vibration 
Pete B - Moderator14/03/2010 09:47:41
7655 forum posts
734 photos
Google 'OS Wankel', Phil, you'll get about 52000 responses.........

Pete
Phil Claridge14/03/2010 14:09:50
1924 forum posts
32 photos
cheers lads, i have collected the plane its an old graupner cardinal cessna, it was very grubby and sad looking but a bit of soap and water made her look much better. i was trying to get the prop offand i noticed the engine was turning, so i put some after run oil down the carb and exhaust, left it for ten minuites and whoopy she freed off and has some compresion. i was told that the plane has been standing for about ten years but i dont think it was that long i'm tempted to stick some fuel in it and try starting it but common sense say's take it slowly think i will get the prop off and get a good look at the engine first i cant see where the glow plug goes at the moment