Search for:  in Thread Title in  

Articles

Printing Plans

Printing Plans

Andy Green examines the software options - 13/4/10

Ken Lighten01/04/2010 10:27:25
258 forum posts
42 photos
Go to the link for a really good FREE 2D cad program, you just need to register with them - I'm using it now as a complete novice and I'm finding it is really easy to draw with.

free CAD download
IanN01/04/2010 12:22:33
1675 forum posts
119 photos
Ken, I'm totally new to cad. I downloaded this a while back and am really struggling with the basics.  E.g. how to import or copy a drawing, and then go about getting rid of what you don't need, and adding your own bits in?

The thing that stumped me was that apart from a forum there doesn't seem to be a manual you can print, or any guide to getting started with the step by step basics. Have I missed something in that department?

Ken Lighten01/04/2010 22:36:38
258 forum posts
42 photos
Ian, the help file on the right hand top corner is really quite good - have you upgraded it to the latest version? Do you mean opening an existing drawing from another source to work on or bringing something into a drawing you are working on? or do you mean copying a part of the drawing you are working on to use elsewhere on it?
IanN01/04/2010 23:58:24
1675 forum posts
119 photos
I only downloaded this a couple of months ago, but have upgraded this evening just to be sure I'm up to date.

BTW, I had some problems completing the initial download but the siemens helpdesk were absolutely brilliant - sent me a file that sorted the issue first time.

What I'm trying to do is open an existing drawing from another source to work on. E.g lets say I have a scale aircraft drawing that I've scanned into my pc, and I want to get that into Solidedge 2D to use the outline to create a plan for a model. How do I do that?
Ken Lighten02/04/2010 15:22:20
258 forum posts
42 photos
Ian, here's what you need to do:

open a new drawing and set your desired sheet size