Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

How many Modellers Are Engineers?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Reno Racer04/08/2010 08:18:06
1138 forum posts
168 photos
Thought i'd start this thread, not to question if a modeller is an Engineer, but find out how many are. I note on many threads that people state they are an Engineer to back up their opinion.

I just wonder how many are Engineers and more importantly to get a feel for whether the building, technical detail, electriconics and flying attracts a certain technically minded person?

I also wonder what level of engineering in terms of professional status; i.e Engineering Technician, undergraduate, graduate, Incorporated Engineer or Chartered Engineer.

BTW, I'm a Charter Engineer and MIET, my Degree (a few years ago now) was in Mechanical Engineering.

I have no alterea motive, nor I am doing a survey for an instrution, just interested from a proffessional perspective.

Regards

Chris

Edited By Ackers on 04/08/2010 08:18:20

Bruce Richards04/08/2010 08:37:34
1849 forum posts
I have engineering in my bones but only studied it to first year degree then swapped to Computer Science. Now I am a odd job/builder, fencer, plumber, knife and tool sharpener, professional parent.
Gaz Elliott04/08/2010 08:55:00
665 forum posts
30 photos
I am a culinary engineer. I design and build items from raw products to create an end result which aids to the human engine. Getting the balance right is critical as the human engine can be delicate . Too excessive innbalances can cause unplesant emissions!!!!!
 I currently have no degree especially in engineering, although can maintain 180 degrees for some time.
Tim Mackey04/08/2010 08:57:35
20920 forum posts
304 photos
15 articles
None at all - apart from 2 years in the electronics industry as a 16 yr old apprentice, my career and training has all been in retail.
Best credential was making a passable flatblade screwdriver in metalwork ( CDT to you kids )