Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Cut-off voltage

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
PB31/08/2012 07:57:51
155 forum posts
17 photos

I'm not sure if this should be in the battery forum or the ESC forum, but here goes.....

I've just completed a model which uses two Multiplex BL-20 SD brushless speed controllers. I was surprised to see that in the programming guide the battery cut-off voltage had three programmable settings which for Lipo batteries were: LOW = 2.6v, MEDIUM = 2.85v(default) and HIGH - 3.1v.

Now I'm pretty new to this, but I thought that Lipo batteries weren't supposed to be discharged below 3v per cell, but I've left the programme on the default setting nonetheless.

I should be grateful if someone could explain these three settings - am I missing something?

Thanks

Edited By Morvargh on 31/08/2012 08:21:15

Greybeard31/08/2012 08:11:23
726 forum posts
6 photos

Could it be something to do with on-load and off-load voltages?

Mark Powell 231/08/2012 08:49:02
430 forum posts

That's just Multiplex being helpful to justify its 'higher than most' prices. Use the default, that's the real one. They do know what's best, they make batteries too.The cut off means it is not on load anymore. That's the point of it.

Pete B - Moderator31/08/2012 09:56:04
7614 forum posts
732 photos

Not having ever acquired letters behind my name, I can only answer in layman's terms, Morvagh.smile

As the charge in the battery pack depletes during flight, its ability to sustain a constant voltage reduces and it 'dips' as you open the throttle. Once you reach, say, half charge, at 3.8V/cell, any prolonged wide open throttle may bring the voltage down below the cut-off point that has been set.