By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Hi, new to RC planes

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
andy33519/10/2012 20:15:54
9 forum posts

Hi, i'm new to RC planes and i've been lurking on here for about a week trying to absorb a little knowledge to get me started in this new hobby.

Thanks for all the info kindly provided on this forum and thanks in advance for all the newbie questions i'm bound to have smiley

I've probably gone at it slightly the wrong way around but i've found my local club via the internet but i've not been in touch with them yet but i have just ordered an AMTF(?) plane.

After browsing the forum for a IC trainer i've gone for the seagull arrising star which comes with a SC46A IC.

I've still got quite a big to do/buy list to get through but atleast i'll have my plane on monday to play with.

This is going to be a fairly slow build up though as i've probably got to spread the costs over a couple of months.

Whats the next logical thing i should buy for this build ?

Club subs

servos

RX/TX

accessories

other ?

Thanks

Andy

Biggles' Elder Brother - Moderator19/10/2012 21:44:26
15748 forum posts
1460 photos

Hi Andy,

welcome on board and well done for taking the plunge!

The Arising Star is a good choice of trainer. A nice, solid, well behaved model and I'm sure you'll have great fun and learn a lot with it.

What next eh? Well I'd suggest getting down to the club and a chat with the guys there before you invest in some radio gear. They wont make you pay subs just to ask a few questions! What you want to know is "is there any prefered radio system that their instructors use or within reason can you pick your own?"

The most likely answer will be either Specktrum or Futaba, or either if my club is typical!