Soldering again

why am I rubbish?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Dylan Reynolds LaserCraft Services17/12/2012 22:30:34
1704 forum posts
661 photos

What the hell am I doing wrong?

I studied several vids on youtube on how to connect deans to lipos and esc's, looks so easy......

......then i tried it, i can tin the wire and the connectors ok, but when i come to do the joint it just isn't happening, all I am succeeding in doing is making a huge pile of mess an not much else, I even succeeded in shorting a 5s 5A with a nice little firework display.

I have used several irons from a 40w leccy (as used in vid) to a cheap gas powered to a very expensive high powered dremel gas one, all the gas ones seem to do is melt the plastic casing on the connector

What is the big secret on soldering? I really think it is one of those black arts

ken hamer17/12/2012 23:12:41
1 forum posts

HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR AN ARTICLE IN QEFI MAG BUT LENT IT OUT , HOW I DOIT IS TWIST THE BATT WIRES TOGETHER APPLY FLUX IT MELTS, THEN ADD SOME SOLDER TILL IT FLOWS THRU THE WIRES I USE BULLET CONNECTORS, STAND THE CONN ON END AND TIN IT WITH FLUX AND SOLDER , STICK THE WIRE INTO THE CONN APPLY HEAT TO SIDE OF CONN HOLDING SOLDER TO WIRE WHEN HOT ENOUGH SOLDER FLOWS DOWN INTO CONN WITH A NICE CONE SHAPE ROUND WIRE ,BEEN DOIN THIS FOR YEARS AND NEVER HAD A JOINT FAIL YET GOOD LUCK KEN

Martin Harris17/12/2012 23:22:41
8728 forum posts
214 photos

Cleanliness, tinning, good mechanical connection*, sufficient heat, application of the iron to the work and the solder to the heated work, not the iron.

Unless pre-tinned with leadfree solder then always use proper leaded solder - and high silver content leaded solder gives the best results of all.

*The solder is there to hold the joint not provide the contact as it's not a great conductor.

P.S. When soldering batteries to connectors do one lead at a time and fully insulate the first connection before doing the second.