Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Servo Reversing

Why Do You Sometimes Need To Reverse Servos

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Greg Watkiss28/04/2013 13:14:26
28 forum posts

I am a complete beginner and have seen in the instruction books that come with RC aircraft instructions on how to reverse the servos on the aircraft but it does not go on to explain why this is done. Could anyone let me know about reversing servos.

Regards, Greg

Jim Carss28/04/2013 13:29:26
2078 forum posts
82 photos

Greg

Once upon a time along time ago when servo reversing was not available on the transmitter,If i remember correctly,Futaba servos came with a Red sticker and a black sticker,red ones went clockwise and black one went anti clockwise.

In the early days you had to choose the direction that suited your installation,for example if the elevator had the control horn on the top surface the servo would have to pull ,if the horn was on the bottom of the surface the servo would have to push to operate the elevator

With todays equipment you just install the servos as you want and if the direction is wrong you just reverse direction with the transmitter prog.

Hopefully someone may come along with a better explanation

hope this helps

Jim

Greg Watkiss28/04/2013 13:34:50
28 forum posts

Hello Jim,

Thank you for the information. I'm now a happy Bunny having learnt something more about RC flying.

Thanks again.

Regards, Greg

Toni Reynaud28/04/2013 13:35:04
420 forum posts
58 photos

Hi Greg,