Forum sponsored by CML

Diesel Wot4 foam-e

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
scott finnie20/06/2013 01:30:49
756 forum posts
95 photos

Hi ,

i'm wanting try out a diesel engine aircraft. I have nominated my wot4 foam-e, what size diesel do you all recommend? I'm not after aerobatic performance and prop hangs ect id rather a nice scale looking and sounding flight, i dont want to be really underpowered and struggling but rather in the middle,

Any help will be greatly appreciated and a big thanks for all who help me achieve this goal,

also any info on diesel engines and how they work too, no tools ect to start engine? can you use petrol station diesel?

Yeap im a noob when it comes to diesel haha

Regards,

Scotti

Frank Skilbeck20/06/2013 10:48:47
4819 forum posts
107 photos

Model diesel is nothing like car diesel as you can see on the Model Technics website. I'm not sure if foam is compatible with consitiuents of model diesel fuel.

Have a look on the PAW website for info on diesels

Bob Cotsford20/06/2013 10:58:13
8749 forum posts
489 photos

paraffin, ether and oil are the basic ingredients with a small percentage of additives in some fuels. I wouldn't have thought it would attack EPO foam, but best to check first. For a FoamE I'd have thought a PAW 19D would be about right.

Quite simply a diesel is just like your glow engines, except that the fuel used is paraffin and it contains ether as an igniter. There's no external power supply, no glowplug, no sparkplug, but what it does have is a second piston upside down in the cylinder head. A screw on top of the head can push this piston down to adjust the compression ratio, so what you have in effect is a variable height cylinder head.