By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Thermalling clockwise or anti clockwise?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Bruce Austin29/08/2013 14:46:24
242 forum posts
1 photos

Hi Guys

I am just getting started into the real air.

I have been flying on a Model simulator for the past twelve months to get a feel for the "stick" and to arrive at the decision to get involved with this (new to me) hobby.

I have been welcomed as a visitor to the High Wycombe & Dstrict Model Aircraft Club, and what a great bunch they are.

My primary interest is in Electric Powered gliders.

I am about to take delivery of a Bixler 2, to get my hand in, and to work toward the A Achievement certificate.

I might need to use a different model with an Undercarriage for the A certificat, but that is another matter.

So, finally to my question.

IS THERE A CORRECT DIRECTION FOR FLYING UP IN THERMALS?

I have observed that water draining out of a wash hand basing always goes in the same direction, and so was just wondering if thermals tend to also go in the same direction. South of the equator the water drains in the opposite direction, for those that were not aware. interesting, eh?

By the way, i subscribe to our RCM&E mag, and it has been such a wonderful help to me in understanding just a few of the complexities within our hobby.

Regards

Bruce

Chris Bott - Moderator29/08/2013 17:18:03
6658 forum posts
1381 photos
1 articles

Hi Bruce welcome to the forum, and what a great question. I wonder if there is a difference.

To be honest, I'm never sure whether or not I'm centred on a thermal. If one wing rises, I try to turn towards that direction, and I think I end up criss crossing the thermal. If I go up in a nice round spiral then I'm doing very well indeed! So to actually choose a direction would be something else.

Those in the know though, may know different?