By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Some specific build questions

How to carve a nose cone, what glue and covering?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
David Cooke 108/11/2013 23:48:20
48 forum posts
18 photos

I'm a newbie and decided that I'm going to be building a 3ch Ben Buckle Super 60 (after given the nod by an old hand). I've built a 21" Micro Super 60 from plan (no kit) and reasonably quite happy with my construction (tissue covered wing).

I've seen some great builds on the web and there is a very nice S60 build dairy on this forum. I am pretty happy with my build skills on everything but the nose cone and covering.

1. It seems that the nose block sections are glued on and then carved+sanded to shape. How do you know what lines to follow on such a shape and how do you get it just so? I'm a perfectionist!

2. I covered a plane many years ago as a kid with iron on Solarfilm (used my mum's iron and gas fire). How do you cover the nose? Again I see some wonderful photos on the web and don't know how to achieve a flawless finish.

3. Year ago I used PVA and that was OK. On my recent build I used aliphactic PVA and was pleased with the "grab". However it didn't really sand well. Is there something better to use? Balsa cement? What's the difference? Also, why epoxy on the thick engine mounts? I'd have thought a PVA joint is stronger than the wood so would suffice?

Thanks

David

Peter Miller09/11/2013 08:35:18
10168 forum posts
1192 photos
10 articles

Glad to see a person who likes real building.

Carving the nose blocks is usually a pretty much eyeball affair but if you want to get it as per the orginal you can make card templates of the plan and side views and carve to them. A good razor plane is a very useful tool.