Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Robert Alexander 116/05/2014 20:10:18
92 forum posts

Some requirements in random order:

• Slow landing speeds / short fields / flaps
  • Capable of FPV in the future
  • Good thermalling / climbing / slow flying
  • Strong / low maint
  • I'd sooooo love to have telemetry of height / airspeed and vario in the future

Even though I have a couple hundred hours as a saiplane pilot I know I'll be a total beginner when it comes to flying models (I'm currently learning to fly quadcopters).

Other than the glider, what flight control platform would you suggest ? Are there FCs that could help with stabilization and/or thermal centering ? What about Tx/Rx ? I currently have an old Spektrum DX6i for my quad but guess it would might not have enough chans for flaps / airbrakes whatever ?

Thanks for any initial guidance / advice

Robert

Tony F16/05/2014 20:15:09
484 forum posts
105 photos

Hi Robert....check this page out....**LINK** Quite a few to choose from....read the specs to check if any of them suit you ?

Tony

Steve Dorling16/12/2014 06:59:52
41 forum posts
1 articles

Multiplex Easy Glider - no brainer

Do NOT go for the cheap clones - no comparison

Fatscoleymo16/12/2014 07:26:06
242 forum posts
86 photos

Hobbyking Bixler. Perfect for what you want. Best 'bang for the buck' fun I've had for years.

So easy to fly, flaps make small field landings a doddle, thermals really well.s

mall enough to leave rigged, prop above the fus behind the wing so out of the way of camera. I use it with a Mobius camera for recording and with an inexpensive HK fpv setup that works really well. Seconds to remove the canopy and fit the fpv setup. Mobius just fitted with velcro on the nose. I am very impressed with the stock fpv kit and monitor.