Forum sponsored by CML

Flair Junior 60

Do I need to mod wing profile?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Gary Murphy 105/08/2014 12:54:22
406 forum posts
14 photos
I am somewhat new to the hobby and wanted to build something bigger that I can also fly.i have just bought a Flair junior 60 on ebay from a guy who turned out to be very local for a good price and to me all parts seem present.i did a quick searce for build tips etc and straight away found mdntion that the model is not perfect for rc control and changing the wing profile and/or raising tail surface.really dont know what to do here.just build as is for practice or go with mods.i would like to find out how to mod for bolts rather than banded winds for sure,and the usual ic or elec,ghat mod might be beyond my skill set.i know the new kits are elec from the box if needed but this d flair kit was agood price.any tips would be great
Mike Etheridge 105/08/2014 13:16:00
1538 forum posts
429 photos

Gary,

I built a 1955 Keil Kraft Junior 60 (See other posts) which matches the Flair Junior 60. As mentioned elsewhere I flew it first on Epsom Downs without the radio switched on and it quite happily flew away on it's own as a 'free-flighter''. The plane will fly quite happily without any modifications as long as the centre of gravity is in the right place. I would get the help of an experienced flier to 'maiden' the plane for you.

MJE

Hangar 9 nut05/08/2014 15:12:34
243 forum posts
25 photos

Gary the plane was designed as a free flight model so on power it will climb due to wing incidence so couple of degrees of down thrust and 1/16 balsa sheet under leading edge of tailplane and you are in the ball park I fly mine with OS 40 fourstroke its great !

Mowerman05/08/2014 16:54:05
1548 forum posts
105 photos

Refer to Peter Lowe's article in Sept RCM&E.

Braddock, VC05/08/2014 17:16:36
1645 forum posts
82 photos