By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

A real beginner.

And I thought model boats were hard work !

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Countryboy18/09/2014 21:38:46
116 forum posts
30 photos

Hi all, my name is Mike and I am an alcoholic oops, wrong forum ! Try again

Hi all, my name is mike and I am a total novice as far as model aeroplanes are concerned. I have built some boat kits and some scratch built so I know my way round a hammer and cross cut saw.

I have just taken delivery of a Ben Buckle kit and am thinking " Maybe this was a mistake !! " I can't make head nor tail of the plans and none of the parts are numbered. Still, I suppose that is all part of the challenge.

Martyn K19/09/2014 14:09:15
5041 forum posts
3677 photos

Hi Mike

Welcome to AA Alcoholics Anonymous - sorry Aeromodellers Anonymous.

This is a great friendly forum and you will get lots of help here. Best thing though, break the proverbial Elephant that you think you have down to bite sized chunks and ask a few questions so we can understand what is stopping you from progressing - we'll be happy to help and get you started.

A bit of background about you would be good, where are you based etc?

Best wishes

Martyn

Steve Hargreaves - Moderator19/09/2014 14:20:42
6744 forum posts
191 photos

Welcome from me Mike.....teeth 2

A Ben Buckle kit will be what we would call a "Traditional" build.....longerons, formers etc. Take a look at some of the build blogs in the Vintage section.....these might provide the initial inspiration you're looking for....

As Martin says post back with lots of questions...we pride ourselves on being a Friendly Forum & remember that the only daft question is the one you don't ask.....

Welcome to a great hobby....wink 2

John F19/09/2014 14:40:28
1316 forum posts
51 photos

Howdy mike and welcome.