By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Looking to get a TX

Suitable for a total novice

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Countryboy20/09/2014 15:56:10
116 forum posts
30 photos

Hi all, can anyone advise whether or not a Spektrum DX5 is a good starting set for a total novice ?

Mike

Dave Hopkin20/09/2014 16:01:04
3672 forum posts
294 photos

There is nothing wrong with a DX5 BUT you may well soon grow out of it and find you want more channels, the ability to have multiple models configured and more tweakability generally...

The downside is there is a hefty price jump between the 5 and the 6 - so if you think you will be getting into the hobby seriously and for the long term, then a 5 will be false economy, but if you are just going to dabble with one model then a 5 will probably do

Steve Colman20/09/2014 16:09:09
806 forum posts
486 photos

A DX6i would be a much better bet and needn't cost the earth.

At Sussex Model Centre: DX5 @ 47 smackers

DX6i @ 72.00

At 72 quid the DX6i is a bargain.

Countryboy20/09/2014 16:19:19
116 forum posts
30 photos

Hi Steve,

You're probably right assuming I had the extra £25 to spare. smiley

Mike

Countryboy20/09/2014 16:59:00
116 forum posts
30 photos

Dave

I wish I knew for sure how long I want to get into this for. Until I give it a try, I will not know but I do see your point.

Mike

Masher20/09/2014 17:24:57
1109 forum posts
79 photos

Also, assuming this hobby is not for you, you are much more likely to get a good sale price for the DX6i than the DX5

Dave Hopkin20/09/2014 17:33:06
3672 forum posts
294 photos

You could also look at fleabay, quite often you can pick up a DX5 for peanuts, 2 days to go on this one but.....

**LINK**

Edited By Dave Hopkin on 20/09/2014 17:35:37

Countryboy20/09/2014 18:24:28
116 forum posts
30 photos

Masher, I hadn't thought about resale values, another good point to ponder.

Mike

Countryboy20/09/2014 18:25:48