Black Horse Travel Air

Brand: Black Horse

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4

READER REVIEWS
Cliff Bastow  |  Dec 29, 2013

Strengths:
easy to build. Good flight envelope. . .
Weaknesses:
U/c mounting is rubbish. I have had two and ripped it out of both with easy landings. . .
Overall:
Great first low winger. Considering the price the construction is fine, just beef up the u/c mounting and go and get your B. . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
5
Hogster  |  Mar 05, 2012

Strengths:
Flies well. Quick to build. Pre hinged a nd pinned control surfaces. .
Weaknesses:
I had to modify the wing servo trays as there wasn`t enough wood to secure the servo with four screws. The undercarriage is pretty solid and unforgiving of heavy landings. I fitted carbon fibre u/c. Covering easily punctured.
Overall:
This is my second Travel Air as I was very impressed with my first one which I bought secondhand. It flies very well and can easily handle advanced aerobatics but is also very forgiving of mistakes. The build quality good be improved but for the price and with a little mod here and there it makes a for good allrounder and perfect follow on from a high wing trainer. .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
JC  |  Oct 13, 2010

Strengths:
Price, flys itself, good looks, versatile,price, price price. . . .
Weaknesses:
Hard to find fault in a model this inexpensive but I'll go for the covering that is easily perforated. It could do with a set of spats. . .
Overall:
For a tenner more than the cost of a 2. 4 RX you cannot go wrong. It goes together in one evening and you need a couple of hours the next night to fit the radio. The fixtures and fittings are good enough for the job.

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
5
Chris Foley  |  Nov 15, 2009

Strengths:
Well built for the money, Stable flyer. . . .
Weaknesses:
Really did not find any. . . .
Overall:
Great second plane if you want to go to a low winger. . . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
5
Buzz  |  Aug 17, 2008

Strengths:
Great flyer, very stable in the air and an ideal plane for learning aerobatics. Good price and easy to build and repair. . .
Weaknesses:
Undercarrage mounting very weak and pulled out after 5 landings. . . .
Overall:
Overall, a nice plane and really ideal as a first low wing trainer or every day flying. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Jeremy Scott-hake  |  Jul 04, 2008

Strengths:
flies well in all weathers can be hand launched, short field take offs and landings, later ones have better wood for easy repairs . upright engine for ease of use. . .
Weaknesses:
undercarrage fixings and brittle covering (shatters in freezing weather). . . .
Overall:
I am on my second one first poor wood one was flown crashed and repaired many times and finally was a mid air victim! the second one is now in its 3rd season flown most weekends rain or shine frost or sun . both had ply reinforced undercarridge mounts with j perkins wire undercarridge (bounce factor to save shocks) it the fus has been snapped in half 3 times and had a new front section grafted on but still flies very well !. mine has a high milage irvine 46 still runs well starts first time . Overall a fuss free well priced every day plane a joy to fly .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
David Stoner  |  Jun 30, 2008

Strengths:
Except for undercarriage mounting faily robust & quick to build. . . .
Weaknesses:
U/C plate useless, replace it before flying, also 2 part carriage too heavy & unyielding, covering wrinkles with age but can be sorted. . . .
Overall:
Simple, easy to fly with just a few mods to beef it up where it counts, mine still going strong after 4 years. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Bing  |  Jun 23, 2008

Strengths:
The aerobatics that can be performed with this model are breathtaking, and having read the the other reviews about undercarriage weakness I have no problems with the tail-dragger version. No problems with landing, it doesn't seem to drop a wing like some of trainers I've flown. I think this will be the aircraft to take us to "B" certificate. .
Weaknesses:
Have not found any yet. . . .
Overall:
Good value for money, easy to set up, looks the part in the air. . . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
4
Nathan Baker  |  Jun 23, 2008

Strengths:
dirt cheap - easy to build/fly/repair. brilliant low-wing trainer. . .
Weaknesses:
the wood(?) is a the usually iffy far-eastern stuff and the covering will start to lift after a couple of seasons, but nothing that cant be fixed. u/c mounting is iffy as is the 2-piece alu u/c - I beefed mine up and replace u/c with a single-piece one with nylon bolts. Pilot looks distinctly dodgy - I painted the canopy silver to hide the little terror!. .
Overall:
It's stable and forgiving to fly, will do basic aerobatics loops,rolls,stall-turns,inverted, etc. . . - it can be flown slowly or fast - it practically hovers with flaperons set up :) I put a J'en 56 in mine but it practically ripped the wings off, now it's much nicer with an OS46LA up front and it's still fast if you need it to be.

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Steve Bontoft  |  Jun 23, 2008

Strengths:
. . . .
Weaknesses:
. . . .
Overall:
came with instructions missing, importers could not, or could not be bothered to send me them, will not use thm again. . . .

Overall:
1
Ease of assembly:
2
Build quality:
2
Flight performance:
2
Value for money:
1
COLIN MILNE  |  Jun 22, 2008

Strengths:
price, style, general build quality. . . .
Weaknesses:
covering, undercaridge mount. . . .
Overall:
this is a great intro to a low wing model with great value for money. however there ar a few shortcominmgs with this budget airframe. This was my move on model from my trainer and overall I was delighted with the presentation , packaging and overall apperance of the model. The build was straight forward with the instructions easy to follow.

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
5
eugene jordan  |  Jun 18, 2008

Strengths:
value for money,simple to set up, flies great for first low winger, does everthing, Simple construction. . . .
Weaknesses:
undercarriage and fixing point. . . .
Overall:
bought as sunday hack , u/c broke off early and did damage to wing and hoz/tailplane totaly, replaced wood and fixings for u/c, metal bolts to keep it on plane, to easy to damage model when it comes off. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Aero120  |  Jun 16, 2008

Strengths:
Simple construction, flies brilliantly. . . .
Weaknesses:
Undercarriage mount is just a bit stronger than a waffer. Heavy covering. . .
Overall:
My travelair was bought as a hack to get me used to flying again having had a break for fifteen years. Three years later I still fly it regularly. The undercarriage collapsed on a very gentle landing as the piece of wood the legs attach to is too brittle. This was fixed and I've fully recovered the plane in solar film, ditched the hideous pilot that comes as standard and fitted snakes instead of the metal push rods.

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
Derek Stevenson  |  Jun 16, 2008

Strengths:
stable flight and good ground control. Super first low winger after trainer. . .
Weaknesses:
Undercarriage is poor. where the metal struts meet there is a fitting which is not strong enough for purpose. If you crash it which most do as first step up the wood quality is awful and repair is difficult because of this. .
Overall:
It did it's job as a first low wing trainer. I must admit to repairing it a couple of times before putting it "in" at full tilt. Black bin bag job. .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
2
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Alasdair MacGillivray  |  Jun 16, 2008

Strengths:
Simple build - instructions not brilliant (pictures do not match up to the text!) - the pictures however do make things easy and it is simple enough to work out which text should go with which image. Terrific to fly - does basic aerobatics yet flies like a trainer if you want. Take-offs simple - virtually hands-off each time - landings with no wind can sometimes mean speed is a bit quick - actually easier to land when a wind is blowing - however do not let this put you off - I am sure it is just my lack of ability. .
Weaknesses:
As reported by others, the undercarriage and fixing to the fus is not good. I changed the U/C for a more flexible one (the Ripmax dural U/C) and also discarded the metal bolts and fitted nylon ones. Now if (when!) I have a heavy landing the bolts snap and U/C comes off cleanly, and the fus is not damaged by the metal bolts pulling out the fixings of the wood. .
Overall:
Even though I now fly other planes, the Travel Air will always be my fall-back for a nice relaxed, yet not too docile, flight. . . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
Jonathan Lewzey  |  Jun 15, 2008

Strengths:
Cheap. Simple. Forgiving flying characteristics. Quick to build.
Weaknesses:
Some materials (particularly around U/C area) are too soft/unsuitable. Instruction manual is good in terms of pictures, but the text (translation) is simply awful!!!. . .
Overall:
In my opinion, the Black horse Travel Air is THE low wing trainer and B certificate model. It builds rapidly, requiring no specialist techniques. The engine bay is open and easy to access. Sometimes, a model is very good during the build but fails where it really matters - at the field.

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
X
Login using Modelflying Login