WOT 4 Foam-E Mk.2

Brand: Ripmax

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
3

READER REVIEWS
Nightflyer  |  Mar 23, 2017

Strengths:
The model flies really well and can be slow and steady and yet can be a fun aerobat. Like how easily the model went together, and easy access to battery pack. . .
Weaknesses:
Pure fiction if you expect to complete the model in 30 minutes! An hour or two is more realistic. I had been told beforehand by three other Wot 4 owners that I would need to use some up elevator trim for it to fly right - AND they were right. Everything else needed no other trim adjustment. .
Overall:
Other than highlighted this model is a delight to fly. Do not be tempted to put higher capacity heavier cells as if standard 2200's need up trim, larger will need even more. . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
3
Andrew767  |  Sep 19, 2014

Strengths:
Quick assembly (excluding the stickers). Easy to fly for intermediates. Small enough to keep fully assembled to bung in the car boot. Robust and takes a few knocks.
Weaknesses:
Instructions to fit the stickers, not the best. . . .
Overall:
Bit late buying one of these but having read the reviews it's better than i thought. Maybe it's been updated but i've had no trouble with undercarriage, even in heavy landings. Mine pulls 370watts so no power shortage and has the makings of a great winter hack. .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
David...  |  Feb 17, 2014

Strengths:
Undercarriage aside quite strong and durable. . . .
Weaknesses:
Undercarriage become lose, motor mount becomes lose, prop shaft can bend in any landing that hits the spinner. . . .
Overall:
Brilliant flier and excellent for aerobatics. Easy to fly and stable for intermediate fliers. Overall I think it's great and will buy another this coming summer, my last gave up after I crashed it when a dog knocked me over at our local flying field - not happy but what can I do! I have a Maxthrust Riot too and that feels a bit of a heavy weight and lumbering by comparison. .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
4
Stevo  |  Feb 15, 2014

Strengths:
Mine went on and on and on. . Flies nice but dont take it up in high wind!. .
Weaknesses:
Nice and stable, but NOT in a cross wind. The U/C rips out time after time, replace with a dowel / rubber band solution. The motor mount comes loose, and constantly needs gluing back in. The motor shaft breaks in the blink of an eye.
Overall:
I'm glad I had one, it did me well. Watch for the motor mount, it needs gluing back in every so often. U/C mount is WEAK!!!. .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
2
Flight performance:
3
Value for money:
3
Rich too  |  Aug 18, 2012

Strengths:
Great 2nd plane, aerobatic trainer (the use i've put mine to). convenient flying, i leave mine assembled at all times - just charge and go. 20 min flight times. .
Weaknesses:
none really, ok, its foam and the undercarriage is weak/small. i removed mine for hand launching and belly landings. . .
Overall:
superb out of the box (i've not touched anything on mine yet). difficult to beat as a hack. flies well on all conditions. everyone should have one!.

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Dave Robertson  |  Apr 06, 2012

Strengths:
Ease of assembly. . . .
Weaknesses:
"NEW"ESC burnt out after 2 hours flight. Poor Under Carriage design, useless on grass strips. Weak hinges on all control surfaces. .
Overall:
Great fun to fly. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
2
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
3
Victor Saliba  |  May 03, 2011

Strengths:
Model was put together in less than 30 mins, powerfull motor and well balanced. It's a Wot 4 after all. . .
Weaknesses:
I found no weaknesses in this model. . . .
Overall:
This is a true RTF, plug and play. I'm a Wot fanatic and this is my 1st electric model, very impressed. The 3S 2200 battery gives about 13 mins of pleasure without having to clean it up afetr 4 flights. .

Overall:
5
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
brian fearnley  |  May 02, 2011

Strengths:
I must have a different model to other reviewers, had no problems (or any of the other 4 being flown on our patch)great fun model. . . .
Weaknesses:
If your are really clumsy tail bracket and back up elevator hinges with tape to be sure. . . .
Overall:
really cannot fault it great fun flies in almost any conditions- mine needed a lot of tail weight to make it really sharp. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Steve W-O  |  Mar 11, 2011

Strengths:
Great idea. . . .
Weaknesses:
Very poor quality, had to repair rudder and elevator, fit new servos, ESC and motor BEFORE flying. Wing tip had been broken and repair attempted at the factory. No response or help from dealer. .
Overall:
Would recommend if they could get the quality and service improved, otherwise it turns out rather expensive. . . .

Overall:
2
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
1
Flight performance:
3
Value for money:
2
Burnsmoker  |  Mar 08, 2011

Strengths:
Flies well. . . .
Weaknesses:
The decals supplied are too similar above and below wing making orientation difficult. Empennage retaining screw wouldn't take up so captive nut had to be re-tapped. Foam tongue at base of fin which fits into plastic control shoe is stupidly flimsy. Plastic moulding which retains u/c is too flimsy and won't stand a hard landing.
Overall:
A great plane spoiled by poor design. . . .

Overall:
2
Ease of assembly:
2
Build quality:
1
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
3
Robert Ayres  |  Nov 14, 2010

Strengths:
Quality, Looks, Quick build, Strong. . . .
Weaknesses:
Extra 20g need at the rear. . . .
Overall:
Good trainer, intermediate and expert alike. Nice power to weight combo. . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
5
Toby Mack  |  Nov 13, 2010

Strengths:
Easy to fly (I'm using it for my A cert). Good value. Generally well thought out. .
Weaknesses:
Tail feels a bit flimsy although I have yet to damage it. Airflow in battery area is poor - hot esc and battery until I made a simple fix. tail wheel mount flimsy, mine also came bent but it has worked ok so far. Small wheels and light weight means it noses over easily on wet grass.
Overall:
A great plane. With rates set as the manual I find it fine for practising for my A cert but will not get boring as I get better. Generally feels robust apart from the tail wheel although I have not yet done anything worse than "land" in long grass. Another review states 215W.

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Bob Cotsford  |  Oct 11, 2010

Strengths:
flies well, easy to assemble, good finish. . . .
Weaknesses:
very variable quality power train, the esc self-immolated on the first flight. . . .
Overall:
A fast way to get in the air at a reasonable price, just needs a battery and RX (in principle), but in reality check the current drawn with a wattmeter and replace either the esc to cope with the supplied prop or the prop to match the 30A supplied esc. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
3
Allan Bowker  |  Oct 03, 2010

Strengths:
Sensible price, easy to build, easy to fly and quite robust for a foam model. Good build manual. Everything you would expect from a WOT 4, a very capable model. .
Weaknesses:
Beware of the quality of ESC and servo's supplied. May be better to fit your own. I have had a failed aileron servo on its second flight and have seen 2 reports of smoking ESC's. Tail wheel hinge could be a weak spot, keep an eye on it.
Overall:
All up weight: 1097g (inc. 3S 2200mAh Li-Po & AR500 receiver) Static power: 215watts @ 19amps (average) The maiden flight went without a hitch and the CG seems to be about right as indicated in the manual. Stickers could do with numbering and mapping them on the plan. A bit of trial and error was required to find their exact position.

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
3
Slatts  |  Aug 31, 2010

Strengths:
Very well thought-out and well engineered. . . .
Weaknesses:
Nothing really, I had to fit larger wheels for my grass flying patch. A bit floaty, doesn't penetrate a breeze too well. . .
Overall:
Flys very well, use low rates initially. Climbs away on half throttle. Very light, glides well and even soars!. .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
3
Value for money:
4
X