By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Ripmax WOT4 ARTF

Manufacturer: Ripmax

Find more products by Ripmax

Average Rating
No. of Reviews13
RRPN/A

mothy wrote on 21/03/2013:
ITS A WOT 4
Strengths: Had one built from original kit years ago - this flies just as well and can be had for about 20 more than the kit. Goes together well and has decent covering. Flies well.
Weaknesses: The closed loop rudder is fiddly to install and like a lot of ARTF models the undercart mounting is relatively weak. After two years of hacking I just gave up and built a new fuz, now have the best of both worlds, the Ripmax jig-built wing and a fuz which is strong (but no heavier as I used thick and light wood rather than their thin and heay stuff).
Overall: A very good hack model and great to fly. Super follow on from a trainer
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Kieren MacGregor wrote on 19/12/2012:
GREAT FLYER
Strengths: strong and durable
Weaknesses: fiddely to build
Ease of assembly
40%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Paul Marsh wrote on 10/03/2012:
A CLASSIC.
Strengths: Strong, light airframe, able to cope with a range of engines.
Weaknesses: None, airframe-wise, but rudder push-pull bar could be improved, as some other fittings.
Overall: A easy model to fly, copes with all weather and quite robust, and even after a couple of hard landings, the u/c has stayed on.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

John Allen wrote on 07/03/2012:
FUN TO FLY, IRRITATING TO BUILD
Strengths: Flys great, stable yet highly maneuverable.
Weaknesses: Control horns crap, pull/pull rudder a pain to install. A rundder rod, and dual elevator rods would be better.
Overall: Great fun, I'll probably get another one after I've destroyed this one.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

.. wrote on 29/02/2012:
POOR KIT GREAT FLYER
Strengths: A fantastic plane to fly at a reasonable price.
Weaknesses: The fittings/hardware are poor, I replaced lots so the low initial price creeps up.
Overall: Great fun to fly and the plane is growing on me. I would recommend it but shop around. If you can get one for 80/90 quid then the cost of upgrades is not as disappointing. I had to put a fair bit of wieght in the nose but it still goes like a rocket with my Irvine 53
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Bill R wrote on 27/01/2010:
NOT IMPRESSED
Strengths: Very strong good quality airframe build but let down by poor quality hardware.
Weaknesses: Flimsy rudder control parts and poor quality wheels and hardware with odd items missing from the kit.
Overall: A strong airframe but let down by poor hardware items. for the price, Black horse or Seagull is better value for money.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
40%
Overall
40%

colin watson wrote on 30/11/2009:
LOTS OF NIGGLES
Strengths: at the moment i am awaiting the weather to fly it
Weaknesses: build quality the fuse on mine has a twist built in wing seating not level the hardware supplied is awful i replaced virtually everything it reminds me of the old vmar kits i spent hours replacing and realigning everything the quality of hardware supplied i wouldn't have put in a trainer i wanted to fit a OS 70 fs in but the distance from bulk head to prop is to short to fit a fourstroke engine so fitted OS55 instead
Overall: i look forward to flying the wot 4 but at the moment i am really disapointed with the build quality the quality of hardware supplied i would spend more money to have a quality built kit with quality hardware instead of having to replace everything. i have built it as my winter hack might not see spring yet. flew it it flew ok unfortunateley after landing first time to re trim a little 2nd flight i lost radio link the result is it won't make xmas never mind spring i won't replace it with another wot 4 i ordered a glens extra instead
Ease of assembly
20%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
40%
Value for money
40%
Overall
20%

winchweight wrote on 29/11/2009:
LOVELY NEW LEASE OF LIFE FOR AN OLD FAVORITE
Strengths: Quick build, great handling, highly manoeuvrable, top quality kit
Weaknesses: U/c is a bit bouncy no matter how gently and slowly you land it.
Overall: Mine is on an SC53 2 stroke. It is extremely fast now. I didn't need a single click of trim and it flew fantastically straight away without tweeking.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Mick Cayton wrote on 20/11/2009:
A VERY WELL PUT TOGETHER ARTF - MUCH STRONGER THAN WE ARE USED TO NOW.
Strengths: Its strength... Throw in the car and fly.
Weaknesses: That rubbish closed loop rudder system - changed mine for a pushrod.
Overall: A model like this is relaxing to fly because nobody expects you to do accurate and precise aerobatics. You can just chuck it about the sky like a hooligan.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Leonard Hunt wrote on 06/11/2009:
VERY GOOD
Strengths: performance
Weaknesses: not found any so far
Overall: excellent
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Victor Saliba wrote on 26/10/2009:
IMPRESSIVE
Strengths: Cheap, light, well made, attractive,CG spot on, fibreglass cowl, durable undercarriage etc.
Weaknesses: The threaded rod of the rudder pull-pull system too short, changed it to a 3mm longer threaded rod.
Overall: I covered the aileron servos with white pro-film as they are deep inside the wings. It's flying qualities is something to be seen to be believed. Mine got a brand new SC 52 turning a 12x6 prop and the things I can do with this setup are beyond one's imagination. It's the right model for the right person after all I'm Mr Wot 4. It's the only one in Malta too.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

DAVID CLIFFORD wrote on 04/10/2009:
AWESOME
Strengths: this model is light for its size, good strong stable under carridge, large wing area makes for a great floater, Good performance even with smaller engines. Lots of room for radio gear. looks good to
Weaknesses: Cheap wing screws, replace them as soon as you can.
Overall: Fairly easy build as high degree of pre fabrication. great colour scheme. Easy to fly but does not hold back when it comes to aerobatics. Has not lost any of that original excitement due to being an ARTF Highly reccomended to all exdperienced fliers
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Peter Wood 4 wrote on 30/09/2009:
TERRIFIC
Strengths: Weel built, fast to assemble and flys perfectly.
Weaknesses: Minor niggle about the slightly oversize tailplane slot.
Overall: I have never owned a Wot 4 but was advised that it was the perfect plane to pass the B test on. It is living up to expectations. Superb slow speed handling yet spins easily. Loops and bunts are easily controlled. Initially rolled slower to the left but adjusted lateral balance and that hasbeen overcome. Oh and the undercarriage seems solid so far.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Latest Forum Posts
Support Our Partners
CML
electricwingman 2017
Wings & Wheels 2019
Cambridge Gliding Club
Slec
Pepe Aircraft
Gliders Distribution
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Do you use a throttle kill switch?
Q: This refers to electric-powered models but do you use a throttle kill switch?

 Yes
 No
 Sometimes
 Rarely

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us