By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Laser Engines (all sizes, please state)

Manufacturer: Laser Engines

Find more products by Laser Engines

Average Rating
No. of Reviews10
RRPN/A

ChrisB wrote on 19/10/2015:
THE BEST THERE IS
Strengths: Plenty of power, good sound and well built.
Weaknesses: Sometimes struggle when inverted, but thats inverted engines!
Overall: Have an 80, 200v and 300v. All superb. 300v is absolutely brilliant and a great sound!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Steve Rickett 1 wrote on 19/10/2015:
THE MOST RELIABLE FOURSTROKE OUT THERE!
Strengths: Powerful, light, robust. Great after sales service.
Weaknesses: Get those petrol versions available!!!
Overall: Brilliant company, brillant engines.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

gillyg1 wrote on 08/09/2015:
LASER 80
Strengths: compact inverted installation easy starting, first flick by hand.
Weaknesses: tank position relative to carb, hence fuel drips from carb with engine inverted.
Overall: Best engine I own, so reliable, runs like a sewing machine, sounds distinctive. Tick over never misses a beat, will idle all day, unlike some four strokes.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

robert green 3 wrote on 02/09/2015:
LASER 150
Strengths: Build quality.
Weaknesses: Can't get fuel tank low enough because of position of carb when engine is mounted upside down. Fuel syphons though carb.
Overall: Strong motor. Still needs Nitro to get the best out of it.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Martin U wrote on 13/07/2014:
LASER 80
Strengths: Sounds, starts & runs great
Weaknesses: Bulky, carb position can be tricky to fit in cowl.
Overall: What a great engine. Sounds amazing, very fuel efficient.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Stevo wrote on 15/02/2014:
LASER 70 - THE BEST
Strengths: Ease of starting, the LASER SOUND, ease of maintenance...
Weaknesses: Oh come on, it's LASER!
Overall: I have two of these I am proud to say. Really impressed.. they far exceeded my expectations!
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Ian Skeldon 1 wrote on 14/06/2011:
ARGUABLY THE BEST 4 STROKES AVAILABLE
Strengths: Price against Jap engines. Reliability, british made, easy to start.
Weaknesses: Don't start until 70 size, will sometimes pre-ignite
Overall: At the moment theres nothing else to match them, I now own 4.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

barry saint wrote on 24/09/2010:
EXELLENT
Strengths: well made, reliable, easy starting, ever lasting
Weaknesses: front angled glow plug on earlier models, card height when fitted inverted
Overall: exellent bullet proof quality motor
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Braddock, VC wrote on 21/11/2009:
LASER 80, ALMOST BULLET PROOF.
Strengths: Very powerful on 10% nitro, exhaust easily fitted in to any cowl, it's a brit!
Weaknesses: If you dive into flints from 100 feet the crankshaft bends.
Overall: One of the best 4 strokes I have, spares are reasonable, eg crankshaft, prop driver and bearings fitted by agc about 50.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

Andy Blackburn wrote on 22/09/2009:
LASER 70 SUPRISINGLY GOOD
Strengths: Low profile. Starts first time. Has never stopped in flight.
Weaknesses: Non-standard fuel tank position required.
Overall: I have a Laser 70 in a 5.75 lb AcroWot and it performed rather better than expected, in fact it goes like a rocket. It took about 3 hours to become vaguely run-in and there may be more to come, but it will turn an APC 12x7 prop at 10,100 rpm which is about 300 rpm more than my O.S. 70 FL can manage on the same fuel. It'll turn a 13x7 at about 9,300 but I usually run it a bit richer than that because it's cowled. The engine has never stopped in-flight and has never failed to start first time; the first time I ever started it was by hand, and it started on the first flick. It's quite a bit shorter than other 70 four-strokes so it's easier to fit in a cowl, the only real down-side is that the carburettor is mounted very close to the cylinder head so if the engine is mounted inverted, the fuel tank needs to be mounted lower than other engines, which can be a problem with some ARTF airframes. Overall, very impressed with it.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
electricwingman 2017
Wings & Wheels 2019
CML
Cambridge Gliding Club
Pepe Aircraft
Gliders Distribution
Slec
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Do you use a throttle kill switch?
Q: This refers to electric-powered models but do you use a throttle kill switch?

 Yes
 No
 Sometimes
 Rarely

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us