By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Saito four-stroke (please state size)

Manufacturer: Saito

Find more products by Saito

Average Rating
No. of Reviews9
RRPN/A

Stevo wrote on 15/02/2014:
SAITO 72 LOVELY!
Strengths: Starts first time, great sound, torque..
Weaknesses: Not a high revving engine, but it's a 4S!
Overall: One nice engine, impressive torque performance.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Alistair Aardvark wrote on 20/12/2013:
1.25 POWERFUL & LIGHT
Strengths: Well made, throttles well, reliable idle, powerful
Weaknesses: Muffler difficult to secure, and end can loosen. Takes considerable running in
Overall: Once run in easy to start, reliable low idle, loads of power. Runs well on MT ProPower 10. I now have two
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Concorde Speedbird wrote on 19/01/2013:
SAITO 45S- UTTERLY BRILLIANT
Strengths: Easy to start, reliable, great performance and an amazing sound.
Weaknesses: That it is not being made any more!
Overall: Brilliant.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Percy Verance wrote on 09/12/2012:
SAITO .62 IS A SUPERBLY MADE ENGINE.
Strengths: Arguably superior to OS in both performance and quality.
Weaknesses: One piece head/cylinder, for those whom do their own servicing. Will not give their best unless run on at least 10% nitro.
Overall: Superb.
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Simon Hopkins 1 wrote on 13/11/2012:
SATISFIED SO FAR.
Strengths: Cheap. Second hand silly money.
Weaknesses: Dented pushrod cover and split seals.
Overall: Well I bought it second hand and it runs! Like a treat! I just need to work out how I can silver solder a ASP muffler to fit?
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
0%
Flight performance
0%
Value for money
100%
Overall
20%

flyer24 wrote on 18/01/2012:
SAITO 125 POWER HOUSE
Strengths: Powerfull engine and easy starting
Weaknesses: I had rear bearing problems dispite using after run oil before putting away - original went after 15 flights, replaced with genuine Saito bearing 4 flights, replaced with FAG bearing and no more problems.
Overall: Cracking engine once I'd sorted the bearing problem.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Tony Richardson wrote on 14/10/2011:
RELIABLE, POWERFULL (180)
Strengths: Well made, unibloc head and cylinder, very powerfull swings a 18x6-8 prop with ease.
Weaknesses: Requires a lot of running in at a rich setting, I flew about 3 gallons of 30% fuel through mine before the needle settings could be really fine tuned.
Overall: Very powerfull super reliable now it is run in. Great value at $375 Canadian. I switched my 180 to ignition and it now runs superbly on a mix of 10% nitro 12% oil 78% ethanol glow fuel, some guys have tried running petrol but found the needle settings to be very touchy, if it is properly choked it starts first time every time by hand ( with correct timing there is no tendency to kick back and bite your finger as glow will sometimes do).
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Braddock, VC wrote on 17/06/2011:
HI POWER, HI VIBRATION
Strengths: unibloc head and cylinder, 125 same mounting as os 91 fx/and 91 4 stroke so it's possible to swap motors around.
Weaknesses: Flexibility of carb mounting and one MUST lub the valve gear manually. I have 2 x 62, 3 x 82 and 2 x 125 and one of the 82s seized the big end. Not very economical.
Overall: I like them, just remember to lub the valve gear just like a laser. I bought mine when the pound was v High so I got real value for money.
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

David Ashby - Moderator wrote on 16/11/2009:
ULTRA RELIABLE, WELL MADE (SAITO 1.00)
Strengths: Superb build, reliable, starts every time.
Weaknesses: Takes a fair amount of running in.
Overall: Superb, starts at a lovely tick-over, never misses a beat and has never cut in the air. Sounds good too of course.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
CML
Gliders Distribution
Wings & Wheels 2019
Pepe Aircraft
Slec
Motion RC
Revoc
electricwingman 2017
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Does your club have a safety officer?
Q: Does your club have a safety officer, or is the emphasis on individual members to each be their own safety officer?

 Yes we have a SO
 No, it's down to everyone

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us