By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Spektrum DX8

Manufacturer: Spektrum

Find more products by Spektrum

Average Rating
No. of Reviews16
RRPN/A

Tim Cope wrote on 14/05/2012:
UGLY AS SIN
Strengths: battery lasts for ever
Weaknesses: should have been lipo from the start Lost a model due to a recall issue...
Overall: should have let them sort the bugs before buying one of the first ones out
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

oldSmithy wrote on 21/04/2012:
QUITE IMPRESSED SO FAR
Strengths: Nice feel, easy to use and setup plus telemetry options. Good switch selection/options.
Weaknesses: Errors in firmware. A bit like anything programmed by humans these days. Hard coded stuff only failed if the hardware failed. Now its down to hoping the programming guys don't miss anything on final tests of f/ware. But on the plus side a f/w change can make a fix quickly and efficiently
Overall: A good system with lots of wing setup options and the ability to connect dsm2 bind n fly models as well as dsmx all with the one Tx and no crystals or aerial to forget to extend. Seems all good so far. I trust firmware will get better. I used the telemetry to monitor the RX pack and stirred all the sticks and discovered my RX pack needed upgraded to 6V so that's progress I guess.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Alan Randall wrote on 03/03/2012:
GREAT FOR WHAT I USE IT FOR.
Strengths: Well made and nice to hold. As I fly electric I love being able to set the timer on the throttle
Weaknesses: One near miss with a newly bound model because I forgot to set the timer to the throttle. From my angle it would be better for the timer to default to the throttle rather than another switch. Larger, coloured pictures would have made the change from mode 2 to mode 1 slightly easier.
Overall: I have been using the transmitter for indoor and outdoor since December 2010 and it has behaved perfectly with indoor and outdoor models on a variety of recievers including indoor, park fly and outdoor, including the 500 full range. Mine did go back for recall but it was handled quickly and professionaly. I had to change it from mode 1 to mode 2 but this did not take long and was fairly easy. Not tried the telemetry yet so I cannot comment on it.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Pete Carpenter wrote on 23/02/2012:
COULD HAVE BEEN MORE
Strengths: Nice feel, comfy to hold, good display, easy to program, telemetry, easy firmware updates
Weaknesses: No glider specific programming, manual too basic, too many recalls
Overall: Why they didn't add glider programming to the DX8 I'll never know. Otherwise an excellent value radio that more or less does everything I need.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Owain wrote on 15/02/2012:
EXCELLENT AND INTUITIVE TO USE
Strengths: Ease of setup & use. After sales support by distributor. Software updates.
Weaknesses: A bug that cost me a model.(now fixed) No other.
Overall: A good all-round system with very intuitive user interface and easy software updates and model backup. I would recommend to any intermediate modeller.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Paul Marsh wrote on 11/12/2011:
OK SET, BUT NEEDS IMPROVING.
Strengths: Ergonomic design, SD card storage and ease of use
Weaknesses: Looses bind for no reason(not RX problem), also reverses controls. (Flew model, ok, turned back on and all controls had reversed!!!) Was at a show, had I not did a check, would have been in the crowd, nasty! Product recalls
Overall: A good set, but not built as well as JR. Limited mixing, when using split flaps/elevator/ailerons
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Barry Ensten wrote on 27/11/2011:
UNRELIABLE
Strengths: Feels nice - user interface good.
Weaknesses: No glider mode Caused the loss of a model on 3rd flight due to lock out - since covered by a recall.
Overall: 3 recalls in less than one year is unacceptable. It would be a good set if it worked reliably.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
20%
Value for money
40%
Overall
40%

sietse kooistra wrote on 13/07/2011:
EXCELENT
Strengths: easy program telemetrie
Weaknesses: display at bottom
Overall: quality
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

adrian lawrence 1 wrote on 05/07/2011:
BEST SET I HAVE EVER HAD
Strengths: Easy to program, lipo or nimh choice is nice as is the built in charger
Weaknesses: The need for separate telemetry module.
Overall: Reasonable value for money. Telemetry is good for those long flights. Nice feel to the sticks, in my opinion just as good as those on my jr set.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Stuart Mallett wrote on 29/05/2011:
EXCELLENT LAYOUT AND MENU DRIVEN PROGRAMMING
Strengths: easy to read easy to program telemetry
Weaknesses: annoying alarms Lack of published set up files should come with lipo power not as an after sales addon
Overall: Very good worth the money
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

BrianB wrote on 18/05/2011:
VERY COMFORTABLE AND EASY TO PROGRAMME
Strengths: Very easy to programme and built in mixes for some wing types save a lot of `mixing`as it is done for you.Smooth feel to the sticks but may be a bit light for some.good all round radio.
Weaknesses: Would not wish to change mode as it seems quite complicated.Pity telemetry needs a separate airborne module as most others seem to incorporate this in the Rx.
Overall: Very good set,had it a few months now and like it very much,does everything the average club flier needs,and more
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Capt Kremen wrote on 23/12/2010:
2.4 GIGG PROGRESSION
Strengths: Ergonomic, comfortable in the hand(s), easy, straightforward to programme and operate.
Weaknesses: Telemetry - Why whilst flying(?) In almost all flying situations the pilot should have the focus of his/her attention on the aircraft and its relation to the sky, ground, people, property and other operating aircraft. To take ones eyes off the flying 'ball' albeit for a split second to view lines of data is not conducive to flight safety. Sure log the engine temperature, battery voltage, current motor rpm for study AFTER landing. An audible variometer and timer functions perhaps being the only valid functions which do not distract visual continuity with the model. The Telemetry is a bit of a boffin gimmick which the vast majority of sport flyers will probably never use. User manual could be better e.g. give specific examples of how to set up a feature/model. The included manual is almost duplicated with a 'Quick Start' booklet too both probably written by programmers and not ordinary mortal end user fliers!
Overall: Reasonably made. Does the job and offers sports fliers sufficient flexibility to operate most model types and their requirements. Useful interface with PC to allow upgrades to software and model memory safe keeping. Flexible internal battery i.e. NiMH or LiPo operation very good.
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

simon burch wrote on 21/12/2010:
SOME REALLY NICE PROGRAMMING TOUCHES
Strengths: The gyro and governor built in programming is superb
Weaknesses: Not found any yet
Overall: Really nice to hold and much better balanced than my DSX9, and lighter !!!
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Maurice Harvey wrote on 18/12/2010:
VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY
Strengths: Ease of programming
Weaknesses: The dx8 receiver. Buy the transmitter without the rx then purchase a dx9. The dx8 rx is no more than a park flyer. With 8 channels one would expect a dedicated battery port using heavy cables.
Overall: Good looks, nice to handle
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
0%
Value for money
100%
Overall
40%

Chris Bott - Moderator wrote on 13/10/2010:
HUGE STEP FORWARD IN EASY PROGRAMMING.
Strengths: Smooth Gimbals, comfortable hand holds. So easy to find your way around the software. Very simple flap mixing, as long as you choose ther right wing type. NimH and LiPo support
Weaknesses: No obvious glider modes although there are plenty of wing types. Inbuilt charger seemed a good idea, except it is a slow charger.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

ntsmith wrote on 12/10/2010:
BETTER THAN MY DX9
Strengths: General feel, easy to set up, timer start by throttle stick, backlit screen - I could go on . . .
Weaknesses: You have to use a mix to get things like flap elevator mixing; something my old DX9 - sold it to get one of these - could do without using a mix but then again how many are ever needed?
Overall: As said, an improvement over my DX9 and a step forward in technology.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
CML
Gliders Distribution
Wings & Wheels 2019
Pepe Aircraft
Slec
Motion RC
Revoc
electricwingman 2017
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Does your club have a safety officer?
Q: Does your club have a safety officer, or is the emphasis on individual members to each be their own safety officer?

 Yes we have a SO
 No, it's down to everyone

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us