By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Seagull Pilatus PC-9 60" span

Manufacturer: Seagull Models

Find more products by Seagull Models

Average Rating
No. of Reviews10
RRPN/A

Phil May wrote on 01/06/2010:
NICE LOW WING TRAINER
Strengths: Its a Seagull!! Easy to assemble,most parts fit with no adjustment.
Weaknesses: Could not get the supplied fuel tank bung to seal, had to replace tank. Supplied under carriage saddle clamps appeared weak so replaced them.
Overall: My first low winger and very pleased with its performance, take off & landing in trainer league, but quite acrobatic on high rates, performance with a 53 perfect
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Max Kirk wrote on 11/12/2009:
CRACKING FIRST LOW WINGER!
Strengths: The wide track of the tricycle undercarriage makes landing easy and protects the prop from ground strikes. Standard (cheap) servos all round and solid build. Built with no mods.
Weaknesses: The tank seem to have leaked on mine so the bulkhead that the wing dowels go in is a bit fuel soaked but still holding up.
Overall: I put an OS55AX in it and the performance is great. This was my first low winger and it has taught me a lot. It will do massive loops, stall turns, inverted (with a little down held in), spins, all the usual sport manoeuvres and will even knife edge at full chat. I flew it into out old WWII runway once (shallow dive) and it just bounced off! I messed up the landing but if I hadnít the only damage would have been the gear legs and some separation of the gear mount in one wing. It went deadstick a long way out and I ended up cart-wheeling in the long grass. This removed the wing mount (complete with the nylon bolts!) but that was an easy fix. I would definitely recommend this plane and motor combination.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Stephen Poole wrote on 30/06/2009:
BUILT AND READY TO FLY IN 5 HOURS
Strengths: 1st flight was perfect minor trim required to right aileron.
Weaknesses: Needed a lot weight up front, suggested balance point was too far back,flew a good flight envelope, no vices. Slowed down and landed perfectly.
Overall: I was well impressed with this small model.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Les Littleton wrote on 26/08/2008:
GREAT SECOND MODEL
Strengths: Looks great . Easy to assemble .Fles like its on rails. A lot of plane for the money.
Weaknesses: Inverted engine needs care in setting up .
Overall: This is my second model and the first i have assembled , i did,nt find any problems . Down at the patch my OS46 lifted it into the air and just a couple of clicks set it flying straight and level . 30 or so flights later and its great fun to fly and very easy to land . I have had a couple of deadsticks after emptying the tank and its a peach to glide in .
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Bill Brownlie wrote on 26/03/2008:
2ND MODEL, NO REAL FLAWS
Strengths: Looks good FLys easy and capable of basic aeros
Weaknesses: Main Undercarraige mount
Overall: Good steady model, Handles wind. Not the fastest but for a 2nd model fast enough. Watch out for heavy landings on the main undercarraige
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Piers 007 wrote on 09/12/2007:
GREAT MODEL BUT WATCH OUT FOR IT'S FLAWS.
Strengths: The kit goes together well and flies great. I have been amazed how many people pass the scale warbirds to come oogle the Tucano. I really miss it (elevator flutter resulted it entering the ground at speed). Have decided I want it back so I'm rebuilding mine from the reackage so she'll fly again. Fly's really well and goes exactly where you point it.
Weaknesses: Construction. The elevators are subject to flutter and snap the flimsy links in a flash. You'll find plenty of comments on the web to back this up. Firewall pop's out at the drop of a hat. Oh, and you can't easily get a 4stroke 70 in without it protruding from the cowl and a new, larger mount will be required. Not to great when it states on the box it will take a 70. If you get one, change the plastic linkages for metal ones, DONT drill the cowl holes where they tell you to but instead add extra ply tabs to the firewall and drill into those. Replace the rear linkage system ASAP. I ignored these comments on the web and took mine home in pieces. Some of the wood could be better quality / selected as I had dark grain and blue typing clearly visible through the white covering.
Overall: This is a simply georgous model which you will love to own. You will also love the interest and respect it attracts at the field. If you want it to last more than 6 months then do take preventative precautions. I'll rebuild mine and it will fly again - thats how much I enjoyed it.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Terry Godfrey wrote on 06/12/2007:
GREAT ON MY THIRD, FIRST TWO MY FAULT.
Strengths: very good build quality,ample space for radio gear. c of g comes on by moving the battery right up front under the tank.
Weaknesses: had to move the rudder control rod to the opposite side from the elevator.
Overall: flyes great on an sc52fs it looks the biz, flyes on rails, just the model to upgrade to from a trainer.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Joe Lister wrote on 08/10/2007:
EXCELLENT KIT BUT WITH RESERVATIONS
Strengths: looks,ease of building,flies well
Weaknesses: materials used.since it's release, looks like cheaper materials have been used(every kit manufacturer is doing it).one or two anomolies within the kit, one being that the control rods vibrate like hell and would be better replaced with Sullivan snakes.another being that they've removed too much material from the plywood doubler in the front of the wing seat. if you want to lighten the kit then use the hole method, which leaves the strength but removes weight.
Overall: my overall view is that of all the models of the PC9 in our club mine was of inferior materials and build. that said, had the mishap which befell mine not taken place it would have been a beautifull addition to my model arsenal. i must hasten to add, that the distributors J PERKINS, have graciously agreed to replace my kit.this is my fourth Seagull kit and have you noticed how Seagull have found a working wing section (one section fits all).if it works,don't change it i think is the moto and it works on all the models in the Seagull kit list. keep them coming i say but try and reclaim the quality which i think has deteriorated due to using cheaper materials and build otherwise ----another brilliant kit.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Peter Harrington wrote on 06/10/2007:
FLYS REALLY WELL, AND LOOKS THE BIZ.
Overall: Handles well as a first low wing model, takes off and lands as if on rails. Another great plane from Seagull Models
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Derek Small wrote on 03/10/2007:
GOOD VALUE, NICE FLYING SPORTS SCALE
Strengths: Easy to build, Does what it says on the box. I was able to put it together in a few hours when on holiday in Australia with very limited tools.
Weaknesses: Nothings really. It was an early one - almost five years ago! I was very pleasantly surprised.It would look better with retracts, but that would make it more problematical for its intended users I think, as well as a little vulnerable for those going to their firsat low wing semi stand-off scale model.
Overall: It flew very well on a basic radio setup. OS 46FX powered it very nicely. First few hundred yards were a little twitchy - no expo, but afterwards it was fun, and predictable. It's waiting for me in Australia and I'm going back in December. looking forward to renewing the relation ship.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
Gliders Distribution
Motion RC
CML
Revoc
Pepe Aircraft
electricwingman 2017
Slec
Wings & Wheels 2018
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Does your club have a safety officer?
Q: Does your club have a safety officer, or is the emphasis on individual members to each be their own safety officer?

 Yes we have a SO
 No, it's down to everyone

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us