By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Spektrum DX7

Manufacturer: Spektrum

Find more products by Spektrum

Average Rating
No. of Reviews26
RRPN/A

alec james wrote on 11/03/2015:
DOES WHAT IT SAY'S ON THE TIN
Strengths: Ergonomics are 'old school' but nowt wrong with that
Weaknesses: Had this Tx for 3years now and it's never missed a beat.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

David Hopwood wrote on 13/04/2012:
EXCELLENT PIECE OF KIT
Strengths: Reesponsive, feels good in the hands, easy to program. Never had a problem with Tx or any of the 7 Spektrum Rx's I own.
Weaknesses: Balance - if you intend to use a neck strap. Bought a G-Force adapator to re-position C of G
Overall: Very good indeed
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Jonathan Lewzey wrote on 11/12/2009:
ULTIMATE 2.4 INTERMEDIATE RADIO
Strengths: -2.4 system -large range of easy to use functions -comfortable feel -comprehensive instruction manual
Weaknesses: -very annoying sound as it is programmed. much worse than your average beep. -you have to turn on a off all the time to change model memory and other functions -no wall charger or charge lead included?! bizarre!
Overall: Very very good radio for the price, comes with 4 well specced servos, perfect 2.4 link.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Dave Towell wrote on 12/04/2009:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: 2.4
Weaknesses: havent foud one yet, but will keep looking.
Overall: Easy to use. Just diffrent to programe than my last one. Have now had 2 months of glitch free, electric flying and as thats all I have well worth the money cant fault it so far. Wish I'd bought it befor the pound went south though.ANY ONE WANT OT BUY SOME 35MHZ GEAR?
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Matt wrote on 17/02/2009:
SOLID AS A ROCK
Strengths: Solid link, quality feel.
Weaknesses: Balance, It doesn't.
Overall: Fantastic piece of kit. Good feel and easy to use.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Maurice Harvey wrote on 22/07/2008:
PERFECT FOR MY ELECTRIC AVIONS
Strengths: Knowing that you are in control of your own destiny. If anything happens its my fault
Weaknesses: The instruction book!
Overall: Superb piece of kit and priced to be as affordable as 35M
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

RobC wrote on 16/07/2008:
18 MONTHS AND NEVER A GLITCH.
Strengths: This gear thumbs it's nose to otherwise "difficult" electric model installations.
Weaknesses: Can't think of any.
Overall: This equipment is absolutely first class.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Johan Bach 1 wrote on 15/07/2008:
GOOD STUFF, IT SHUNTS 35MEG INTO A SIDING.
Strengths: Unbelievably reliable radio link. No clashes, no glitches, or anything bad as yet.
Weaknesses: Instructions, lack of charger, possibility of "brown out" if batt is below par. Tx strap position.
Overall: I have found it fault less so far. Have used two Batt packs to prevent B.O. Flying wise it's really fault less. I use a custom Tx tray.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

lemonitart wrote on 03/07/2008:
MOVED UP FROM DX-6I MONEY WELL SPENT
Strengths: easy to set up. fear free flying. easy to hold.
Weaknesses: On all the pictures I have ever seen the 3 position flap witch in on the front. On the transmitters sold in this country it is on top. A bit peeved about that.
Overall: Exellent piece of kit, well worth the money, even with it being aimed at the heli pilots more than plank flyers like myself.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Jack Bagley wrote on 27/05/2008:
BEST RADIO SYSTEM IN THE GALAXY
Strengths: no failures, no glitches, great latency beating system!
Weaknesses: Sometimes a bit of a pain to know where to stick the second reciever in certain models.
Overall: Very easy to get used to and scream around the sky!
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Terry Godfrey wrote on 19/05/2008:
BEATS 35 MEG HANDS DOWN
Strengths: safty, interference free, no aerial to route.no waiting for a frequency
Weaknesses: if it can be called a weakness, the cost of changing from 35 meg.
Overall: i have now flown my spektrum well over 6 months had no problems that i can put down to the radio. i love it.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

ntsmith wrote on 19/05/2008:
GOT TO BE ONE OF THE BEST
Strengths: Ergonomic. Good price. Good mixing facilities. Superb and reliable.
Weaknesses: Timer only starts when a button is pressed it cant be started by the throttle position like the Futaba ff9 for instance.
Overall: This has proved to be ultra reliable and I just cant wait to get the DX9. I cant praise it enough.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

David Monk wrote on 12/04/2008:
GREAT - EXCEPT THE INSTRUCTIONS.
Strengths: Perfectly reliable, no glitches, no messing with frequency pegs.
Weaknesses: Instructions are dreadful.
Overall: Great
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
20%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

John Mcnairn wrote on 09/04/2008:
SO FAR I LOVE IT
Strengths: Very versatile
Weaknesses: nothing---yet!!
Overall: superb
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Matt Roberts wrote on 03/04/2008:
IT A NICE RADIO
Strengths: No chance of interference and no checking the peg, and the inevitable fiddle with frequencies.
Weaknesses: I've had a failure with low battery, entirely my fault and the plane glitched but I choose to ignore thinking it was the wind.
Overall: Grand kit, once you realise the the receiver really does need that voltage!
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Mike Wyatt wrote on 03/04/2008:
A QUANTUM LEAP FORWARD
Strengths: The switch from JR 2720 to Spektrum was seamless (and painless). I like the time unit, when I remember to activate it !! The brief delay between switching on the receiver and it latching on to the signal (noted by Alan Gordon above)is quite normal with this technology.
Weaknesses: Sometime tricky to fit the two receivers in a small electric model. The means of achieving model choice could definitely be improved - have already overwritten one model's settings with another in error.
Overall: I have never regretted my investment in this technology. The peace of mind engendered by knowing you will not experience a frequency clash is worth every penny.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Peter Masters wrote on 02/04/2008:
BRILL
Strengths: every thing about it
Weaknesses: nothing as yet
Overall: five star
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Nick wrote on 01/04/2008:
ABSOLUTELY SUPERB
Overall: If you only fly leccy - as i do - you wont believe the difference - not had a glitch since i bought it
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

David Horgan wrote on 25/12/2007:
ABOUT TIME
Strengths: 2.4 Ghz, short arials, no clashes and 10 years overdue
Weaknesses: Fail safe a little slow. Neck strap position is usless! if you allways fly with a strap you will neeed to buy or make a tray.
Overall: Excellent
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

David Tuplin wrote on 23/09/2007:
WAITED A LONG TIME FOR THIS
Strengths: good to be above interferance threshhold Cured all problems on my t rex Good quality sticks and none of the delay used to get with pcm
Weaknesses: none yet
Overall: 9 out of 10
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Tom Ruut wrote on 19/09/2007:
REVOLUTIONARY
Strengths: Peace of mind about not shooting someone down.No aerial on the plane or the Tx to bother about
Weaknesses: None.
Overall: A great radio at a good price,4 digital servos included.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Tim Mackey wrote on 19/09/2007:
EXCELLENT VALUE
Strengths: 2.4Ghz...say no more !
Weaknesses: only 6 channels, no side levers for constantly variable flaps, uncomfortable tiny rocker switch for trainer function
Overall: For the money, it is very very good. I think it feels quite well made for the price point, and it does exactly what it says on the tin. I have converted all my models to Spekky, and not a single glitch or problem in 11 months of useage.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Keith Quigg wrote on 19/09/2007:
ONE OF THE BEST THINGS TO HAPPEN TO OUR HOBBY IN MANY YEARS!
Strengths: Ease of use and programing (similiar to JR 2720). The use of small length receiver aerials - so easy to change to another a/c. The built in timer on a mid-range unit is another great plus, especially for electric fliers.
Weaknesses: Model selection could be better when turning on the radio - as in JR 9x.
Overall: A sign of things to come in the radio industry. Obviously JR has a deal with Spektrum to test the water with this gear, and now the range from JR will follow. I have an order for the 9x 2.4.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Helidel wrote on 07/07/2007:
ALL MY ELECTRIC FLEET USE THIS AND IT'S GREAT!
Strengths: Easy and reliable to use, no problems at all on the field (except some envious remarks about having no channel worries.)
Weaknesses: No suitable charger with set. But have got over this by using a 3S 2200mA Lipo and have only re-charged after 4 days flying!!
Overall: Very good and can recommend to anyone else, especially if starting out with RC flying.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Steve Rose wrote on 07/07/2007:
OUTSTANDING UNIT
Strengths: No Shoot downs, comes in NZ with servos, battery packs, small hinged antenna, good build quality, programming is easy both in Heli Mode and Fixed Wing
Weaknesses: Mode 1 only, no charger by default. Occasionally will not link with reciever even though indications show a link (always check prior to starting that engine)
Overall: A great unit that I would recommend to all who require 7 or less channels. Easy to programme even for the novice (my 10 year old son managed to programme a fixed wing)
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Alan Gordon wrote on 22/06/2007:
EXCELLENT PEICE OF KIT, COMPARED TO OTHERS IT "FEELS"QUALITY
Strengths: Easily understood screen, excellent ergonomics.
Weaknesses: The only weakness I found is a small delay between switching on TX and then Rx picking up signal. I hope this is "normal"?
Overall: exudes quality, dissapointed with lack of charger and Rx battery Pack.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
CML
Gliders Distribution
Wings & Wheels 2019
Pepe Aircraft
Slec
Motion RC
Revoc
electricwingman 2017
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Does your club have a safety officer?
Q: Does your club have a safety officer, or is the emphasis on individual members to each be their own safety officer?

 Yes we have a SO
 No, it's down to everyone

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us