By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Durafly Vampire

Manufacturer: Durafly

Find more products by Durafly

Average Rating
No. of Reviews11
RRPN/A

Colin Bernard wrote on 03/04/2014:
GREAT FUN !!
Strengths: It may be cheap but you get a lot for your money. (The PNF has the airframe, EDF unit, ESC, BEC, 4 x servos and 3 x electric retracts for around 80 - trying costing it separately and you soon see you are getting your money's worth. In the air it looks and sounds great.
Weaknesses: As others have said, it does benefit from a 3mm carbon strip running the full length of the boom. It has a superb glide and this can be a problem in trying to get it down. Many a time I have brought it in high to clear a hedge, then forced a lot of down on to get it to lose height only for it to glide the full length of the field when I come to flare out.
Overall: I am now on my third which I think says it all. (The first was damaged after a crash due to the booms not being strengthened, and the second was replaced because I was having so much fun I thought it deserved to be replaced with an airframe with less hangar rash. You will not regret buying this.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Paul Marsh wrote on 10/09/2013:
GOOD CLASSIC-LOOKING JET.
Strengths: Powerful motor, good equipment spec, as the trike retracts, ubec and bar rx/batt are included
Weaknesses: Tail booms very weak, and need an insert of carbon to reinforce. My fan unit was also way out-of-balance and replaced. Pitch change on idle/full power, due to horizontal tail-plane,although full-size did as well. Nose-leg mounting weak, but bit of epoxy sorted it.
Overall: Sounds like a Goblin engine, good duration for what it is and looking at the Sea Vixen next...
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Derek Small wrote on 09/09/2013:
LOOKS THE BIZ!
Strengths: Convincing in flight. Good scale outline. Simple in operation. good sound.
Weaknesses: A bit 'squirrelly' in gusty conditions
Overall: Great value and a long overdue model.
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
0%
Flight performance
0%
Value for money
0%
Overall
0%

Capt Kremen wrote on 27/08/2013:
WONDERFUL JET WHISTLER
Strengths: Great intro to EDF. Very good scale flight performance. Super glide. 'Whistling' jet sound better than most screaming EDFs!
Weaknesses: Tail-booms flex if not reinforced with strips of carbon or similar. Stock equipment i.e. Servos, Fan & Motor down to a price and not a quality, suggest upgrade. Pilot figure wearing a bone-dome and ejector seat markings neither appropriate to this 'first-jet' era. Durafly Instructions (as usual?) are poor. Move C of G forward to the front edge (or more) of the booms.
Overall: Great fun for anyone considering a (relatively) easy EDF but put off by usual tricky flying characteristics and high costs of EDFs. Great overall value out of the box.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Bill_B wrote on 15/04/2013:
AFFORDABLE SCALE EDF
Strengths: A really affordable scale EDF model that's easy to assemble and fly.
Weaknesses: Tail booms need strengthening as they're very flexible, and the wing to tail incidence needs to be accurately set during assembly. Also, the waterslide decals are easily damaged as they are brittle.
Overall: A handy sized EDF park flyer that won't break the bank and which can also double as a PSS model with no modification! For a nice quiet scale like sound fit a Change Sun 70mm 10 (or 12) blade fan unit.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Kit Morpeth wrote on 28/01/2013:
I LIKE THIS MODEL A LOT. IT IS A BIT WEAK AROUND THE BOOMS AND I DIDNT BOTHER WITH THE WHEELS ETC BUT MOVED THE ESC FURTHER INTO THE AIRSTREAM BY MAKING AN EXTENDED PLY MOUNTING PANEL. GOT THE ELECTRICS FROM BRC HOBBIES WHO WERE MOST HELPFUL
Strengths: Flies great and sounds very jet like. looks convincing in the air. Great fun. Glides really well with no power
Weaknesses: Booms need strengthening but easy to do and paint a bit flakey
Overall: Great head turner and I think good value
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Piers Bowlan wrote on 25/01/2013:
EXCELLENT INTRO TO EDF
Strengths: Good performance on a 4s Lipo with great low speed handling too. Quick to put together, I bought the ARF without the retracts which probably helped. Very good value and looks fantastic.
Weaknesses: Tail booms are flexible and weak; need reinforcing. Two strips of carbon strip inserted and cyanoed into slots cut at 90 degrees to each other (underneath and inside each boom) fixed this. Paint tends to come off and being foam soon gets shabby. The C of G is 2cm forward of that shown on the instructions-be warned!
Overall: The ARF is the way to go. The retracts are not reliable and the wheels too small for anything other than tarmac or the proverbial bowling green. I fitted a 4s 3300mAh LiPo which helped the C of G because of not fitting retracts. Easy to hand launch and lands slowly on its belly. I have even slope soared it with the EDF installed. A great model.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Dean B wrote on 22/01/2013:
QUITE A HEAD TURNER
Strengths: cheap and cheerful. Sounds realistic in the air. nice to fly, quite fast and does superb loops although its not happy inverted.
Weaknesses: Tail booms need strenghening, break off easily. I fitted carbon rods underneath each boom for extra support. Sucks grass and debris in on landing if the motor is not stopped.
Overall: Nice easy model to chuck in the car.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Flt Lt Biggles wrote on 17/09/2012:
UNIQUE AND AFFORDABLE EDF VAMPIRE
Strengths: Very stable, glides exceptionally well when off the power. PNF version is stonking good value.
Weaknesses: Finish wasnt the best I have seen from Durafly. Tail booms felt a bit to weak as did the mating of the wings to the fuselage - with some well placed carbon rods these issues are easily resolved.
Overall: For such a low price you get a lot of plane. The finish isnt too bad, the stock setup in the PNF version is more then enough for scale flyers. The Durafly Vampire is a great plane and flies beautifully.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

pete taylor wrote on 10/09/2012:
BRILLIANT!
Strengths: Cheap! I bought the ARF version without the electics for around 40 plus p&p. Quick to assemble, looks great in the air and sounds amazing. Easy to fly but very neutrally stable, so not for the novice.
Weaknesses: Like all foamy's, a bit prone to hangar rash. The booms were a bit bendy to begin with so I installed a c/f strip top and bottom of each one by simply making a slit with a scalpel and sliding a 0.75x3 mm carbon strip in then securing with thin cyano.
Overall: Having read a few comments regarding the cg I set it forward of the recommended position to 290mm from the nose. With no information regarding control throws included in the instruction manual, (Hah!) I set these as follows: Ailerons +12/-10 Elevator +/- 10mm Low rates set to 65% and expo at 25%. The model flew away very readily from a hand launch into the quite stiff breeze and climbed like the clappers. Easing off the throttle to around 75%, I began to get a feel for the handling which is superb. I found that it was best to use low rates for most of the flying, producing very smooth, jet-like, maneuvers accompanied by the most amazing sound. Very scale-like. I had taken the opportunity to dynamically balance the fan unit (70mm BRC plastic type) which contributes enormously to the low noise of EDF units. Not having retracts fitted allowed me to use a bigger than recommended Battery pack - I went the whole hog and used a 4500mAh 4s Tipple pack which is enough for around 10 minutes flying at mixed throttle settings but still allows the Vampire to fly wonderfully big loops. Marvelous stuff! Now for the Sea Vixen!!!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Ian Jones wrote on 05/09/2012:
IT'S CHEAP, TOO CHEAP. THAT'S A PITY IT COULD HAVE BEEN GOOD.
Strengths: Sounds Great. Takes off from grass. Difficult to stall. Good stand-off scale appearance.
Weaknesses: Booms can flex. Steering wires slip - not securely crimped. Main undercarraige leg not securely fitted. Tyes rub on undercariage legs. Tends to pitch up on power off. Very little detail in the instructions, not even control surface movements. NOse retract stopped working after 7 flights (3 of those were belly landings!)
Overall: Flight performance and speed is reasonable for an EDF and better than many. Requires too much work to be a true PNF. For around £70 for the PNF version it's a good performer after the weeknesses have been tended to but hasn't endeared me to foam aeroplanes. **UPDATE** After initialy writing this review the noseleg retract stopped working. Obviously I will take this up with Hobby King but in view of that I now downgrade my original review. Update2 (22/10/12). Hobby King replaced two faulty retracts in the end. The procedure was slow but non the less it was successful.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
20%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
40%
Overall
40%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
CML
electricwingman 2017
Wings & Wheels 2019
Cambridge Gliding Club
Slec
Pepe Aircraft
Gliders Distribution
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Do you use a throttle kill switch?
Q: This refers to electric-powered models but do you use a throttle kill switch?

 Yes
 No
 Sometimes
 Rarely

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us