By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

FrSky Taranis

Manufacturer: FrSky

Find more products by FrSky

Average Rating
No. of Reviews15
RRPN/A

Dave Hopkin wrote on 07/05/2015:
A GAME CHANGER
Strengths: The Operating System - Truly programable in the true sense of the word - The hardware is on par with the major brands
Weaknesses: Steep, very steep learning curve to get to grips, I almost gave up then it clicks from that point on I havent even begin to find its limits
Overall: Hardware - on par with Spektrum, though I prefer the FrSky ariels on the RX
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

MattyB wrote on 26/12/2014:
PROBABLY THE MOST DISRUPTIVE PRODUCT IN RC
Strengths: Mixing flexibility and functionality as good or better than 1k+ sets; RF reliability with integrated telemetry; quality of gimbals; price (inc RX prices); voice capability makes telemetry really useful.
Weaknesses: Dated ergonomics (some switch crowding at the top of the TX); some switches feel cheap; "too cheap" for some to believe it's any good!
Overall: These are breeding like wildfire in clubs around me, and with good reason; nothing else comes remotely close in functionality and flexibility for the money. RF reliability is stellar with very low brownout voltages, telemetry is nicely integrated and very affordable, and the open source software is regularly improved and updated by a community who listen to and meet new requirements as they come along. Yes the programming will not be easy at first for those coming from Asian style radios, but once grasped it's incredibly logical and outstandingly flexible; the limit is really your own imagination. The big brands should be worried!
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Roger Mason 1 wrote on 01/12/2014:
GREAT RADIO SYSTEM
Strengths: Reliable and inexpensive. Easy to program with no limitations.
Weaknesses: Have to spend time getting familiar with programming.
Overall: A really great radio system. Never had any problems. Great range of receivers. Only gear I am using.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

R Rigby wrote on 10/11/2014:
GREAT VALUE
Strengths: so many options
Weaknesses: lack of info to set up... manuel well
Overall: 80%
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Jeff Powell wrote on 27/10/2014:
GREAT VALUE TX
Strengths: Build quality, flexible software, Companion9X for pc on variety of OSs allows setting up, backup and updates.
Weaknesses: Steep learning curve for new software but well supported on internet and Youtube
Overall: Amazing value for money making change from 35mhz to 2,4ghz a lot cheaper. TX feels solid and software allows a vast range of mixes.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

john stones 1 wrote on 26/09/2014:
IT'S A GOOD DEAL AND NOT BEFORE TIME.
Strengths: Price, proven reliability,affordable rx's, telemetry,i don't have to look at screen it speaks to me
Weaknesses: None, how can you pick fault at reliable and an 8 channel rx for 140 ?
Overall: Fantastic value, the big plus is Rx prices and the variety of them.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

John Allen wrote on 25/09/2014:
BEST VALUE R/C TRANSMITTER
Strengths: Totally flexible mixing, corss platform app for managing on PC.
Weaknesses: Paint comes off case when exposed to nitro based fuels
Overall: Can't see myself owning one of the big brand names again. This is the best radio I've owned by far, excellent quality for the price.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Kevin Fairgrieve wrote on 19/09/2014:
FEATURE LADEN. EASY (ISH) TO PROGRAM. IT CAN DO MORE THAN I CAN.
Strengths: Open TX software is major plus. Enough switches and knobs to mix just about anything to anything.
Weaknesses: Getting my head round the programming took a little time.
Overall: A solid reliable link to my models. I have never felt more in control
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Bob Cotsford wrote on 16/06/2014:
FULL FEATURED, SOLIDLY MADE TX AT A BARGAIN PRICE
Strengths: Does everything and anything, 60 memories and 16 physical channels, cheap receivers compared to 'brand' names
Weaknesses: menu buttons can come loose, needs a scroll wheel for fast paging up and down
Overall: Fantastic value for money and very reliable
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Fatscoleymo wrote on 10/05/2014:
AS GOOD AS IT GETS! (I THINK)
Strengths: Everything. So flexible and logical once the initial differences to JR, Futaba etc have absorbed. After the 1st plane programmed it becomes 2nd nature. The custom switches and custom functions are where it really comes to life! Anything is possible.
Weaknesses: ?????????????????????????????????????????.None that I've found yet.
Overall: JUST GET ONE!!!!!! It really is that good. 25 for a 16 channel full telemetry rx. Like many I thought I didn't need it, but rx voltage and RSSI (rx signal strength) with audio warnings give me that 'warm fuzzy feeling' when
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

David... wrote on 09/05/2014:
BRILLIANT, VALUE FOR MONEY AND VERSATILE
Strengths: It's what modellers said they need
Weaknesses: None
Overall: Flexible, adaptable and good value
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

John Reed 2 wrote on 06/05/2014:
GREAT KIT
Strengths: Cheap as chips,
Weaknesses: NON
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

VERY POWERFUL - ULTRA GOOD VALUE
Strengths: Flexibility of OpenTx very easy to program once you are used to it - especially via C9X software. General build quality Exceptional value for money
Weaknesses: You have to be prepared to take a little time to get to know it
Overall: A first class addition to the field.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

larsito wrote on 23/04/2014:
SO MUCH FOR THE MONEY!
Strengths: Opentx. Build quality.
Weaknesses: Old fashion JR style.
Overall: A lot for money. Can do what ever you want.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Bob Wells wrote on 11/04/2014:
WHAT CANT THIS DO?
Strengths: Companion X on PC to set up models No limits to mixes Talking vario and mix. Open RC help
Weaknesses: Need to work at it to understand mixes.
Overall: Great value for money. Worth taking the time to learn
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Latest Forum Posts
Support Our Partners
CML
electricwingman 2017
Wings & Wheels 2019
Cambridge Gliding Club
Slec
Pepe Aircraft
Gliders Distribution
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Do you use a throttle kill switch?
Q: This refers to electric-powered models but do you use a throttle kill switch?

 Yes
 No
 Sometimes
 Rarely

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us