By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Ripmax Spitfire EP

Manufacturer: Ripmax

Find more products by Ripmax

Average Rating
No. of Reviews18
RRPN/A

Kev Greenwood wrote on 09/03/2013:
FANTASTIC PLANE
Strengths: Flies like its on rails, nice looking finish to covering, easy to fly.
Weaknesses: motor mount, had to beef it up with balsa blocks but ok now. The tail looks weak but no problems yet.
Overall: I bought this for 30 second hand air frame only. I thought it was a bad buy but once i cleaned it up, she looked great, Fitted a Turnigy 35/42 brushless running on a 3s its pulling 450 wats plus, vertical climbs out of sight. All my friends admire it, its the best flying spitfire money can buy. I used a 55 amp Turnigy esc right at the front of the airframe to balance it out, in a nutshell, its perfect, flies inverted no problem. I have a black horse spitfire 40 and its a nightmare to land, this ripmax spit floats in like a trainer. Best value plane i have, every time out it gets 8 batts through it, i must have clocked up 500 flights, love it to bits, wish ripmax would make them again, i would buy 3 and store them.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Dave Drew wrote on 24/08/2012:
HMM.....
Strengths: Bounces well
Weaknesses: No c of g info in build instructions
Overall: First flight wasa bloody nightmare, and that was in the hands of the most experienced pilot in the club. Opened throttle and it climbed vertically.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
40%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

GrumpyGnome wrote on 06/10/2009:
GOOD LOOKING, GREAT FLIER
Strengths: Performance
Weaknesses: Really designed for non-LiPo so CofG can be an issue
Overall: Very very nice flier - OK build quality. 'Flat' NiCad/NiMh fit perfectly, LiPos not as easy
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

John Lewnes wrote on 30/11/2008:
GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY, EASY TO ASSEMBLE, FLIES WELL,
Strengths: good handling at low speeds,easy to assemble.generally flies very well.
Weaknesses: spinner is a waste of time, I just fitted a plastic jobbie.Motor mounting area needs to be reglued properly otherwise the framework falls apart.
Overall: Get one!!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Terence Thirlaway wrote on 26/11/2008:
BRILLIANT FLYER
Overall: Single handed launch under handed holes in wing wast of time SPINNER?????
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

ROBERT SWAN wrote on 20/11/2008:
GOOD LOOKING AND EASY TO FLY
Strengths: skin stands up well to scrapes or rubbing
Weaknesses: edges of wings/tailplane can be "dented" easily
Overall: I added invaison stripes and found that it was easy to see in flight. It is good that the ailerons stat effective down to the ground.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Stan Pratt 2 wrote on 09/11/2008:
NICE FLIER
Strengths: available spares
Weaknesses: motor mount
Overall: Flys great, good plane
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Alastair Place wrote on 08/08/2008:
WHAT A GREAT MODEL
Strengths: Easy build, solid flyer over all quite strong
Weaknesses: the motor mount is the only really weakspot
Overall: I would recomend this palne to anyone who has some experince of low wing aircraft
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

jez wrote on 11/07/2008:
JUST GREAT TO FLY
Strengths: very strong construction
Weaknesses: holes for launching grips are a bit weak
Overall: just love flying it espesially rolls and flying low , with axia motor and 2200lipo sounds great too wish it had retracts !!!!!!
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

winchweight wrote on 10/07/2008:
LOVELY FLIER
Strengths: Looks, ease of building
Weaknesses: Poor spinner design, and dodgy nose shape
Overall: Much better than I ever anticipated
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Kelly wrote on 04/05/2008:
SUPERB EVOCATIVE SPORT SCALE SPITFIRE
Strengths: ARTF, very good build qualities,excellent easy to follow instructions. Nice flyer,lots of character
Weaknesses: Engine mount need strengthening. Colour scheme(silver)?. Lack of underside details e.g radiators.
Overall: Well made ARTF with excellent flying characteristics. Although the colour scheme and lack of detail stand out, it just looks so realistic in the air. Would be hard to find a better semi scale Spitfire for the money.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Steve Hill wrote on 11/04/2008:
SUPERB FLYING QUALITIES AND VERY PRACTICAL SEMI SCALE SPIT
Strengths: Once set up properly it performs amazingly well and LOOKS right in the air. Generally robust airfame.
Weaknesses: Lousy engine mount...until stengthened with some strips of glass cloth and then all is well. Ditto re. the finger holds which have given me ZERO problems for hand launching since. Bizarre shape of cowl, now come ON...it must be possible to improve this!
Overall: Model is now 3 years old and has NEVER let me down. Mine is fitted with a Mega 22/30/3E, 3700 lipo, Graupner 11x6 folder AND.....2ounces of lead. This gives a slight nose down balance but that's how I like most of my models. This set up gives around 18-20 minutes of exceptional flying ( use the throttle chaps!)....not purring around but real scale-like flying. The smoothness of flight has been remarked upon wherever I take it. Flies out of the launch straight as an arrow and has no vices that I've yet found. Do spend a little bit of time on that engine mount BEFORE you fly...it will let you down otherwise! Also add a bit more green paint on the overly silver cowl, amazing how it looks SO much better once done. I entered the hobby back in 1972 so I feel somewhat qualified to say I've seen what's what and, take it from me...this is a SUPERB flying model of a semi-scale Spit. I would go out tomorrow and buy another, no kidding!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

jason wrote on 28/03/2008:
LOVELY TO FLY
Strengths: nice to fly and looks great
Weaknesses: a little low on glue on some joints would advise a bit of extra epoxy for strength, fingers holes no use at all.
Overall: good plane to fly and quite easy to fly
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Stuart Sims ! wrote on 24/03/2008:
GREAT FUN
Overall: flying it for two years and hope to continue for many more as it is suprisingly strong Stew
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

leccyflyer wrote on 22/03/2008:
EXCELLENT PRACTICAL FLYING MODEL
Strengths: Superb flight characteristics, very stable and aerobatic as desired, easy handlaunching.
Weaknesses: The shape of the cowl is horrible. Finger holes for hand launching are a little small. Hatch catches could be better. Spinner.
Overall: Very nice model, easy to put together, good instruction booklet, stunning performance on suitable brushless and lipo power. Looks brilliant in the air. My son's favourite model.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Stephen Stockwell wrote on 21/03/2008:
NICE WELL BALANCED MODEL
Strengths: quick to build stable flyer
Weaknesses: finger holes under wing sheeting breaks easy needed reinforcing.motor mount came unstuck from bulkhead had to reglue
Overall: nice model,great flyer
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Brian Bultitude wrote on 20/03/2008:
LOVELY MODEL TO FLY
Strengths: Stable at low speeds.
Weaknesses: Unfortunately have had to rebuild a nose section which was not easy!Needs strenthening!
Overall: A good product would definately buy another.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Andrew Cummings wrote on 07/03/2008:
A 1.2M WING SPAN SPITFIRE. THAT'S STEADY AND AGILE.
Strengths: Easy to put together. She is solid in the air and relatively easy to fly.
Weaknesses: Small battery bay. May need some adjustment and extra weight to get CoG.
Overall: This was my first ARTF and I was very impressed how easy she went together. After some research I chose a larger then recommended motor for added performance an axi 2826 equivalent with 2x 3s2200mah in parallel. This extra weight put the CoG just about in the right place. Hand launching is fine with this power set up and she cruises around beautifully on 1/2 power. Landing is fine as there is little sign of tip stall, with a little wind on the nose it is a piece of cake.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
electricwingman 2017
Wings & Wheels 2019
CML
Cambridge Gliding Club
Pepe Aircraft
Gliders Distribution
Slec
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Do you use a throttle kill switch?
Q: This refers to electric-powered models but do you use a throttle kill switch?

 Yes
 No
 Sometimes
 Rarely

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us