By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Irvine Tutor 40

Manufacturer: Ripmax

Find more products by Ripmax

Average Rating
No. of Reviews18
RRPN/A

mothy wrote on 21/03/2013:
VERY GOOD
Strengths: My remarks apply to the Tutor Mk 2. Easy to assemble and very good instructions.Flies very well and as well as being stable has a much better aerobatic performance than many trainers without biting you if you get things wrong.
Weaknesses: Noseleg a bit bendy, tank hatch liable to depart in flight - best to tape it up rather than rely on the catch.Does need some nose weight with most 2 strokes.
Overall: An excellent trainer - recommended.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

GaryG wrote on 29/01/2012:
GREAT BUY
Strengths: Easy to put together, instruction manual very good. Easy enough for me to follow and I haven't built anything for over 30 years.
Weaknesses: none that I could find.
Overall: Excellent value and very well put together piece of kit. The instructor who maidened her even walked away from the pilot stance with a BIG cheesy grin on his face.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Christian Hollyer wrote on 16/12/2008:
GREAT
Strengths: Generally forgiving
Weaknesses: Nose leg (but aren't they all?)
Overall: Certainly helping me in my "re-learner" stage.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Jonathan Lewzey wrote on 10/12/2008:
BEGINNER? BUY ONE.
Strengths: Probably the easiest ARTF to put together. It has an excellent instruction manual that breaks construction steps down in a clear and logical order. All the major assemblies are good quality and fairly light. it will take popular sizes of IC engine, but is simple enough to convert to electric power with the help of an experienced modeller.
Weaknesses: Covering. Apart from the most high-eng ARTFs, they all seem to have sticky backed, brittle and heavy covering that is ok until it breaks.
Overall: When i joined my club, this was my first proper model. It taught me a lot about flying (with the help of my instructor) and i wouldn't have entrusted my flight training to any other plane. unlike some more modern trainers, its simplicity is its strength as it is easy to build, maintain and repair. The undercarriage is good enough to withstand the roughest grass fields. if you have broken a tutor's U/C feel ashamed! Once i had passed my A certificate, it became an adequate aerobatic trainer, showing you shouldn't ditch your trainer too soon. it was capable of looping and rolling maneuvres, as well as inverted flight. the only things i couldn't make it do then were the bunt and spin. however, this is not a criticism as a pilot should move onto a more capable machine before attempting these moves and no rookie pilot wants their trainer to spin, especially on those first flights. I only lost my tutor due to an electronic failure and would say this to anyone who has flown their trainer for a long time: check your battery packs. my tutor most likely met its end through black wire corrosion. since, i have flown an arising star and probably a few other trainers, but the tutor still remains my number one rookie machine.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Pete Norris wrote on 18/10/2008:
IF I CAN FLY IT ANY ONE CAN
Strengths: easy flyer
Weaknesses: undercarriage changed mine to tail dragger
Overall: well good for money
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Nick Holmes 2 wrote on 17/10/2008:
FANTASTIC
Strengths: Very strong, easy to build great plane to learn tofly on. My 9 year old son is learning and it is a treat to fly.
Weaknesses: A bit heavy but with a 46AX its goes well and gets you out of trouble, I fiitted wing bolts instead of the bands and it finishes the model great.
Overall: The best kit I have used to teach anyone to fly, very strong and flys like a dream. Even great for learning early aerobatics and inverted flight is a treat.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

michael smallbones wrote on 04/10/2008:
EXCELLENT FIRST PLANE.
Strengths: Quite forgiving
Weaknesses: Side walls of radio compartment.
Overall: Very good quality for the money. Instruction a little to brief for the begginer. Very good in balance and control.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Leonard Hunt wrote on 03/10/2008:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: Handling in the wind Ease of building? repairing
Weaknesses: Pushrod difficult for beginner to fit. Trike u/c on grass
Overall: One of the best trainers around
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Mark Eames wrote on 02/10/2008:
ITS GRRRRREAT
Strengths: Easy to fly, dueable, stable, forgiving, resilient, hit a tree and didn't die.
Weaknesses: With a 46 it is very agile and I fly at just under half throttle, difficult to identify orientation at a distance
Overall: Fabulous trainer, good value and great fun for a trainer
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Chris Lane wrote on 18/08/2008:
IT TRAINED ME!
Strengths: Stable and strong and goes very well with a 46 in. Almost unstallable.
Weaknesses: They don't make piano wire any more. Pre-flight checks include straightening the undercarriage. Covering is easily dinged and punctured.
Overall: Does its job well but is susceptable to hangar rash. I have 2 and the first was converted to tailskid and covered with nylon.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Douglas Coulton wrote on 07/08/2008:
A SUPERB TRAINER
Strengths: Easy to assemble and fly. No real vices.
Weaknesses: The undercarriage can distort on heavy landing, but is easy to bend back.
Overall: A really good first trainer that will do more as the flier progresses.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Ian Jones wrote on 02/08/2008:
PROBABLY THE BEST TRAINER AROUND
Strengths: Easy to assemble with clear instruction accompanied by colour photographs.
Weaknesses: Fuselage cheeks can be to high for engines with a rear main needle.
Overall: My 2nd trainer and the one I really learnt to fly with. I flew it frequently for 3 years and occasionaly for 2 years since. It has been bashed about a bit but easily repaired. It's reasonably strong which I think jusifies the higher than average trainer price. I've flown many trainers now (as an instructor)and the only real competitor I have found is the Seagull Boomerang which is also very good, not quite so strong but similar flying characteristics. Other trainers a good but the T40 is probably the best ARTF trainer around.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Iain Burr wrote on 25/07/2008:
STRONG, EASY TO BUILD AND A HIT AT THE FLYING FIELD
Strengths: Easy to use instructions, easy assembly in a few nights and fun to make.
Weaknesses: Plastic clevises and wheels were a pain to fit as undercarriage was slightly bent wrong.
Overall: I thought I was guided towards an excellent trainer which my teacher was very happy about. Is forgiven in flight and sets the ball rolling.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Izzo wrote on 19/07/2008:
A GOOD , STURDY STARTER FOR BEGINNERS
Strengths: Easy to build with good instruction manual
Weaknesses: Would have preferred not to have to use elastic bands for wing fixing
Overall: A good steady flyer. I changed mine to a tail-dragger.I'm still using it today
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

old yorkie wrote on 17/07/2008:
GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY,GOOD FIRST MODEL
Strengths: easy to build,stable flyer
Weaknesses: undercarriage
Overall: excellant first trainer.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

cymaz wrote on 17/07/2008:
GREAT TRAINER
Strengths: Readily Repairable. Takes a heavy landing well. Easily convertable to taildragger.
Weaknesses: Get some proper wing bands and throw away the ones in the box.
Overall: Fly it and fly it and fly it until the paint comes off.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Sam O'Mahony wrote on 20/06/2008:
IDEAL FIRST MODEL.
Strengths: Predictable flying characteristics. Great trainer. Very durable.
Weaknesses: Haven't had any problems myself.
Overall: Great first model. Got my A cert on it within a month. Great for learning on!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

A Collins wrote on 20/06/2008:
SUPERB MODEL
Strengths: Ease of assembly, little or no modelling skills required.
Weaknesses: The manual hasn't kept pace with model improvements/changes.
Overall: I was given one of these planes as a birthday present recently and it is my introduction to the world of rc model aircraft. The kit itself is very well packaged with some nice glossy photo’s on the box, ignore the fact that the wing appears to held on by only two rubber bands! The build was quite straightforward and would not tax even the most inexperienced modeller but there are a couple of things to watch out for. This is an updated model but the manual has not kept pace with the changes e.g. there is mention of two alternative engine mounting brackets but only one is supplied with the kit. The other point is the fuel tank installation; if you follow the instructions given in the manual, you will be tightening the bung screw for ever and a day trying to retain the tank in the airframe. A couple of phone calls and emails to the guys at Ripmax and these niggles were sorted out for me. I chose the Futaba 6EX 2.4 GHz radio system and an OS 46 AX 2 stroke engine to complete the build. Total build time (evenings only) was a little over a week. I chose to run-in in the new engine on the plane and was delighted when it started at the first flick of the prop, a small adjustment to the needle valve to give a slightly rich mixture and she was soon purring like a kitten. I ran one tank of fuel only before heading out to the strip with my instructor and a buddy box. Despite being extremely nervous at my first flight I needn’t have worried. The throws on the ailerons needed some adjustment as she tended to twitch at the slightest touch of the controls but after that, the Tutor 40 flew beautifully and is a very forgiving aircraft. I would recommend the plane, radio and engine to anyone starting out in the hobby, a superb combination.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Latest Forum Posts
Support Our Partners
CML
electricwingman 2017
Wings & Wheels 2019
Cambridge Gliding Club
Slec
Pepe Aircraft
Gliders Distribution
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Do you use a throttle kill switch?
Q: This refers to electric-powered models but do you use a throttle kill switch?

 Yes
 No
 Sometimes
 Rarely

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us