By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

SC four-stroke engines (all sizes)

Manufacturer: SC engines

Find more products by SC engines

Average Rating
No. of Reviews13
RRPN/A

Phil Winks wrote on 26/10/2014:
SC30FS A CRACKING ENGINE
Strengths: Easy start seems to hold tune
Weaknesses: does need to be wet to start also don't forget to add oil to the crankcase for every start
Overall: so far only run in, its waiting the finishing of my DF but after 4 or so tanks to run it in I cant fault it and it certainly seems lusty enough, you just can't go wrong for the price, just don't use an electric start on it.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Simon Hopkins 1 wrote on 22/04/2014:
STRONG ONCE RUN IN
Strengths: Power to price ratio is good for the SC 120FS. I have one in a Seagull Yak 54 and now I have my plumbing sorted out it is running well. 10% nitro, fully synthetic lube.
Weaknesses: At this stage none. However my engine is only just run in.
Overall: I would say the 120 four stroke is a fair approximation of the type, versatile, powerful and suits a large number of larger 'club' sized sport and scale planes.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Dean B wrote on 23/04/2013:
IF ITS GOOD ITS EXCELLENT
Strengths: Price, ease of starting, sound.
Weaknesses: Quality control could be better
Overall: i have two SC70's. One is excellent and the other is a bit of a pig. hard to start and poor tickover.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Victors wrote on 21/09/2011:
52 4 STROKE - BRILLIANT
Strengths: Cheap to buy and run forever with minimal attention
Weaknesses: I haven't found any
Overall: Excellent value, bags of power and a lovely sound
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Bob Cotsford wrote on 20/07/2011:
SC 52 FS - FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY
Strengths: Easy starter, lots of torque, very cheap!
Weaknesses: may not last as long as 'quality' brand engines (there again it may well do)
Overall: Exceptional value for money, a 52 fs at less than 100, and it is happy turning a 13*6 prop in my Acrowot
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Ian Skeldon 1 wrote on 14/06/2011:
QUITE A LOTTERY
Strengths: Cheap to buy, lots of retailers, good supply of second hand ones.
Weaknesses: If you get a bad one it's a BAD one. My local shop doesn't take tham back and refuses to believe they can be poor.
Overall: I've had several and now discovered something very useful. If your new SC is down on compression after a couple of tanks of fuel, check that the pushrod tubes are not holding the head off the body. Mine was, and I managed to resolve this an dnow its a lovely engine (sc 30fs). Sadley I now buy ASP instead.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

oldSmithy wrote on 11/06/2011:
GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY
Strengths: Easy to start and has good reliable tick over
Weaknesses: Like a number of 4 strokes the exhaust needs to be tightened properly in order to avoid stripping the head threads.
Overall: My experience of the SC91FS has been generally good. Throttles well and has a really good tickover and so far had no dead sticks.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

FlyinBrian wrote on 10/06/2011:
SC 91
Strengths: Seems well made and starts easily
Weaknesses: None as yet
Overall: Very happy with the motor for the price
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Engine Doctor wrote on 01/10/2010:
GOOD VALUE BUDGET F/STROKE
Strengths: SC 120 f/s Good usable engines that dont break the bank
Weaknesses: Inconsistency in build quality.I have had two 120 f/s one excellent and still have it, the other was rubbish and down on power. Some engines have poor compression and are down on power while others match higher priced makes.
Overall: Gernerally good value for money. But a few examples I have owned have had poor compression from new and should be returned as faulty, no amount of running will sort the problem which seems to be distorted cyl head
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

Ian Jones wrote on 29/09/2010:
SC52FS 6 YEARS OF FLYING, ADJUSTED FUEL MIXTURE A HANDFUL OF TIMES & ROCKERS ONCE. BRILLIANT!
Strengths: Easy to start, provided it's primed properly. Reliability is outstanding. Quiet and even running. very good value for money.
Weaknesses: Not a huge amount of torque.
Overall: Well I'd buy another if this one broke. Hours and hours of flying over the years and I hardly ever have to adjust anything or even change the plug. (I always use after run oil). Reliability that exceeds it's price tag.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

richard cohen wrote on 29/09/2010:
SC52FS SUPER LITTLE MOTOR
Strengths: reliable, great value, compact silencer.
Weaknesses: none that i could find. its not OS but its not 260 either - less than 100 ! can't see it in the cowling anyway
Overall: just bought another - what does that say :)
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

SteveH wrote on 29/09/2010:
SC30 FS CHEAPEST FOUR STROKE BUT PERFORMS VERY WELL
Strengths: price, ease of starting,has run fault free for many flights
Weaknesses: overall finish not up to the class OS or Enya but half the price
Overall: Good cheap introduction to four strokes. SC 30 nice little engine.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Peter Ormerod wrote on 16/06/2010:
SC 90 FOUR STROKE
Strengths: Starts very easy
Weaknesses: None
Overall: Very reliable
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
CML
Pepe Aircraft
Slec
Revoc
electricwingman 2017
Gliders Distribution
Wings & Wheels 2019
Motion RC
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Does your club have a safety officer?
Q: Does your club have a safety officer, or is the emphasis on individual members to each be their own safety officer?

 Yes we have a SO
 No, it's down to everyone

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us