By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

RCV four-strokes (please state size)

Manufacturer: RCV

Find more products by RCV

Average Rating
No. of Reviews13
RRPN/A

Paul Marsh wrote on 13/07/2014:
RCV 58
Strengths: Different -that's the main reason to have one. Low profile, light.
Weaknesses: Gets hot, lacking in power, unreliable, noisy (sounds like a bag of nails when starting/warming up)
Overall: Also have a 60SP, this is better, but only just, gets really hot - even cowling thought out, hardly any power - needs expensive 10% and gives me dead-stick landing practice. Won't buy another.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
20%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

Andy Blackburn wrote on 12/07/2014:
RCV91-CD
Strengths: Low profile so will often fit inside the cowl.
Weaknesses: Weighs a ton, and the propshaft is offset 3.5 mm from the "normal" position. Slightly cantankerous carb. And the support is via an on-line forum - I'd prefer to speak to someone on the phone.
Overall: When first run, it wouldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding and was a bit of a liability. However, after having run it for over an hour, it's gained over 1000 rpm on a 14x6 and is now behaving normally; it might improve a bit more.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
40%
Overall
40%

Gavin Livsey wrote on 10/07/2011:
NICE! (130CD)
Strengths: Starts first time. Runs sweet as a nut. Sounds fantastic
Weaknesses: Can't think of anything
Overall: Great motor and British.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Solly wrote on 01/06/2011:
90 SP
Strengths: Easy starting, powerful and superb idling.
Weaknesses: Essential to get the cooling sorted.
Overall: Very impressive, has a lovely sound in the air.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Mike Rowe wrote on 02/10/2008:
NICE ENGINE, GREAT SERVICE FROM RCV
Strengths: Size
Weaknesses: Too wide for some ARTFs
Overall: I first bought a used one on ebay, it was ok but lacked power sent it for service, and they gave me a fantastic deal on a new one, the first one was a very early model not as described when I bought it. LOVE IT!!!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Andy Butler wrote on 21/09/2008:
FAB ENGINE
Strengths: Good quality, starts first time - every time - and it's British.
Weaknesses: None so far
Overall: Take care running it in - I've put over two litres through so far and it's now just coming on song. It was fine after the recommended running in period, but with extended running it really gets settled and pulls like a train. Throttle response very smooth all the way up from idle to full chat. never misses a beat. Bags of power and sounds brilliant.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

eric hand wrote on 06/06/2008:
NICE LITTLE MOTOR
Strengths: great for scale models sounds well plenty of power
Weaknesses: tank needs to be high .slightly noisy on gear train
Overall: mine is in a wot4 with tank high it was in ascale job but cut out on half tank it never misses abeat and has plenty of power . its slow to start on first run but starts no problem afterwards
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Djay wrote on 05/06/2008:
BUY ONE NOW
Strengths: small, compact, powerful, reliable
Weaknesses: carb intake manifold breaks on a heavy landing
Overall: superb engine, Have mine in a wot4 for over 5 years and still going superb
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Michael Boland wrote on 04/06/2008:
SOME ARE GOOD, SOME AREN'T
Strengths: Compact size, good 4 stroke + gear noise sound for scale effect, reasonable torque.
Weaknesses: Heavy, hard on con rods, carby is too high.
Overall: I have 2 of these, although only one is in a bird at the moment. Have already broken a con rod after only about 40hrs running, but a lot of nose overs and a few crashes (any motor can fail when stopped that quick). Produces some very strange gear noises on occasions but these seem to go with a bit more running. All the RCV's I have had reach paek rpm with the throttle only 3/4 open which to me indicates badly matched carbies.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
40%
Overall
60%

Keith Flower wrote on 04/06/2008:
JUST WHAT THE SCALE MODELER NEEDS
Strengths: compact design leads to easy cowelling which conceals the engine to give a better scale finish. RCV engines I feel are quieter running than the OHV engines and above all this is a British product from a company with an international reputation.
Weaknesses: Slightly down on power compared to other 4 stroke engones but this this is balanced by excellent fuel econony.
Overall: Grat engine for mid sized scale models. The history of sleve valve technology goes back to the golden age of British radial enines eg the Bristol Centaurus.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Malc. Nicklin wrote on 23/05/2008:
WOW
Strengths: The Torque was found to be very high with very little change with size and Pitch of Prop. Good tick over down to 2,000RPM with an APC 11" x 6" up front. Very clean oil that is exhausted after running in.
Weaknesses: Strange feeling when first turned over by hand starting until run in then it's a matter of a couple flicks after a nice wet prime.A little oil comes from the front bearing but so what it shows that oil is getting through.
Overall: Having started using model motors from the 50s up to today’s marvels both 2 and 4 stroke I was somewhat taken back with my very first RCV 58 CD motor. It had this strange feel to it when the shaft was turned and not much compression as you would normally get with a motor of similar size 4 stroke and I could see why then that RCV recommend the use of an electric starter to get these motor fired up. The motor was mounted in the bearers and plumbed up with the pressure nipple on the muffler feeding the tank and a 11” x 6 “ APC prop up front. On turning the prop over to give her a prime it took no effort to turn it over with the Chicken Stick to get the fuel up to the Carbie and into the workings but still very little resistance to compression. My thoughts started to think about looking for the electric starter but lets see how we go first with the hand start, Glow driver applied and several turns over in both direction to try and get a response but nothing, not even a little pop my heart sank. Oh no I don’t want to take a starter to the field then I found out the glow driver cell was discharged.From then on 1 or 2 flicks by hand and she's away. After running it in as per the RCV instructions she's lapped in and we have some nice compression. The lads at field are very impressed of the installation in the scale models. Never misses a beat and never a dead stick so far. I would recommend the use of a tacho to aid in running the motor in and setting up the top end by backing the revs off 500 RPM on the rich side.All in all a very nice motor and a well put together piece of kit.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Malcolm Bray wrote on 31/01/2008:
VERY GOOD
Strengths: Very Torquey, sounds superb,T.T.91 silencer makes all the difference.
Weaknesses: Engine develops a harmless "rattle" at idle after extended use. Require A LOT of running in.
Overall: After many hours use engine is now bueatiful, idles nicely, powerful and can even start by hand now. 10% nitro+at least 2%caster mixed in with synthetic in fuel.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Alan Weston wrote on 14/07/2007:
NEVER AGAIN
Strengths: none
Weaknesses: reliability,bad starting,vibration.
Overall: I have been modelling since i was about ten years old(im now 51)and i can honestly say this was the most unreliable motor i have ever owned. Its now long gone thank god and i pity whoever bought it. I have since had hands on experience of two more 58s a 90 and a 120sp and can honestly say that unreliable running,idle and vibration have put me off RCV for life. Shame really, you pays your money and only the model shop profits,thank god for china.
Ease of assembly
40%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
20%
Value for money
40%
Overall
20%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Latest Forum Posts
Support Our Partners
CML
Pepe Aircraft
electricwingman 2017
Cambridge Gliding Club
Slec
Wings & Wheels 2019
Gliders Distribution
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Do you use a throttle kill switch?
Q: This refers to electric-powered models but do you use a throttle kill switch?

 Yes
 No
 Sometimes
 Rarely

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us