By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Multiplex EasyStar

Manufacturer: Multiplex

Find more products by Multiplex

Average Rating
No. of Reviews25
RRPN/A

Raf Golsteyn wrote on 14/10/2016:
ABSOLUTE BEGINNER, CAN GROW ALONG.
Strengths: Handles 50 watts (standard speed 400 brushed) to up to 300 watt brushless align. Super stable flight characteristics, nice novice to expert plane.
Weaknesses: small size rudder
Overall: although a novice-beginner plane, it can handle lots of power (and plenty abuse! ;-))) Nice quality for realy low budget.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Noggin the Nog wrote on 29/08/2013:
GOOD FOR ABSOLUTE BEGINNER
Strengths: Flys itself with no control inputs Easy to land Joy to watch
Weaknesses: Floaty - difficult in strong wind (wants to veer to the side and just keeps going up) Be really careful with the leads from the engine as very tight space.
Overall: Good as a starter and as a relaxing flyer but need to change model to progress with your learning
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Kursat wrote on 12/12/2011:
Strengths: Most comfortable first plane, indestructable
Weaknesses: nor very responsive
Overall: best beginner's plane
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Jon Peek wrote on 21/12/2008:
TREMENDOUS LEARNING TOOL
Strengths: Some reviews state to slow as a weakness,I say that's one of its strengths as I needed all the time I could get when a situation developed airborne that I was not quite comfortable with.Can be carried in the boot for anytime flying any where suitable.
Weaknesses: If stock equipment supplied is used then there is a reluctance for the aircraft to climb quickly,but it gets there, C of G needs to be spot on to prevent ballooning.Handlaunching can disturb innards be sure to secure firmly b4 each flight.
Overall: As a learner aircraft you would have a job to find better. Help from an experienced pilot in the initial set up can prove invaluable, the difference between enjoying and possible catastrophe if poss seek help dont be afraid to ask.Dont be put off by the look of it,as even as you progress there's room at the flying field for some great fun if a few of you are aiborne together with little danger to aircraft or onlookers.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

G wrote on 20/12/2008:
ONE OF THE VERY BEST BEGINNERS' PLANES
Strengths: FLies really well, so easy to fly, and withstands crashes really well (for example, no forward-facing prop but a really solid nose that can take the punishment). Can be quite fast and semi-aerobatic as well.
Weaknesses: No wheels so you can't practice wheeled landings as with some trainers.
Overall: Flies really, really well. A lovely little plane that will give beginners or oldies a lot of pleasure. Easy to build. Easy to chuck in the car. Flyable in smaller spaces than many trainers. Glides really well, on some days you can turn off the motor and rise in thermals. Quite remarkable crash survivability - that nose is solid elapor. Can fly extremely slowly but also pretty fast (depending on what motor you fit). It has no ailerons which places some limits on aerobatic performance. Highly recommended - a far better choice than the difficult planes many beginners insist on buying! A smart beginner - or an experienced oldie who fears he's getting beyond flying age - will do very well to buy this.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Richard Cooper wrote on 14/11/2008:
SURVIVED 3 DAYS UP A TREE IN GALE AND RAIN!
Strengths: Excellent for practice in small areas.
Weaknesses: A bit slow.
Overall: A great design and easy to mend. Useful for teaching flying especially with a buddy box.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Djay wrote on 13/11/2008:
MODERATE FLYER, SLOW TO RESPOND, SLOW SLOW SLOW SPEED
Strengths: strong foam,
Weaknesses: in stock form, very very slow flyer, struggles to even maintain airspeed, takes a lifetime to get any height, no power at all , takes an eternity to turn/respond to rudder input, always running max throttle. does not like electricity power lines, attracted to the magnetic field from the cables and burns out the speed controller after it hits them.
Overall: with the stock motor and recommended battery pack, mine did not fly at all well, had absolutely no power or flying speed, not enough power to gain height, a brushless conversion made it marginally better. Cheaper toy versions available which fly much better.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
40%
Value for money
40%
Overall
40%

John Sparkes wrote on 10/11/2008:
EASY LEARNER TOOL AND FUN TO FLY
Strengths: Ease of assembly and repair
Weaknesses: none worth mentioning
Overall: An excellent learning tool and fun model for impromptu competitions. loads more fun with motor upgrade.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

david anderson wrote on 05/11/2008:
GOOD VALUE
Strengths: Easy to fly in reasonable conditions. Mistakes can be repaired quite easily.
Weaknesses: Standard power system struggles a bit in stiffish wind conditions.Upping the power is a big improvement.Could possibly benefit from a larger rudder.
Overall: Excellent value for money and no vices when flying.Would recommend it as a very good first model.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Kris1 wrote on 24/10/2008:
VERY GOOD TRAINER FOR SOMEONE WHO HAS NEVER FLOWN...
Strengths: Rubust, easy to build and flies well.
Weaknesses: Stock motor weak. Replace it for a cheap outrunner to run say 6 x 4 on 3S lipo. Mine runs for an easy 30 to 40 mins off a 2000mAh 3S
Overall: Recommended as a first ever plane.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Dafydd Bevan wrote on 12/09/2008:
TOUGH COOKIE A SURVIVOR
Strengths: sustains a lot of knocks, prangs and cracks. Glues easily back together and flies again.
Weaknesses: The pillar between the wing and the cockpit. The rudder is too small and needs improving. Underpowered initial motor.
Overall: Adaptable and very forgiving. A super beginners plane and resiliant.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Ken Jones wrote on 29/08/2008:
EASY FUN
Strengths: just about idiot proof
Weaknesses: at the price none I can think of
Overall: great little fun trainer
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

LIONAWA wrote on 29/08/2008:
EXCELLENT FOR THE PRICE
Strengths: easy to fly. so stable!Motor safely located!! Landing is a treat!
Weaknesses: Would have looked fab with landing gear. Out-runner upgrade may pose some prblems.
Overall: Fantastic I converted one to fly with aelieorons.Superb!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Brian Barnes wrote on 29/08/2008:
MY MOST USED MODEL !
Strengths: Flies in any weather,(brushless motor a must for performance.
Weaknesses: Rudder a bit small and un-responsive at low speed.
Overall: Great value for a first model, great fun when you beef it up with brushless and lipo
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Dean Williams wrote on 25/08/2008:
ELEPOR GLIDER
Strengths: can be flown to destruction and back. just glue it back and off to go again
Weaknesses: sould make it full house instead of just three chanels
Overall: to start flying it has got to be the must have plane. easy to fly and fun for anyone new or old to the sport
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Matthew Lloyd wrote on 18/08/2008:
EEEEASY!
Strengths: Easy to build. Easy to fly. Easy to repair.
Weaknesses: Possibly TOO easy to fly? It just won't spin - so I have yet to learn to cope with tricky situations. Struggles with windy conditions. Canopy no longer fits nicely - nose area a bit prone to damage - must practice gentle landings!
Overall: Fab first model. Inspires confidence from the off and was perfect for taking on holiday. My current set up: Stock motor, 20A ESC, 1800 3S Lipo - giving me flight times of around 1 hour!! I expect the stock motor to die soon, so will replace it with a brushless and take out some of the down thrust.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

Capt Kremen wrote on 20/06/2008:
A GOOD ALL-ROUND HACK MODEL EVEN FOR EXPERIENCED FLIERS
Strengths: Versitile e.g. trainer, test-bed, aerial photography/video, fun when fitted with a good motor and improved control surface i.e. new rudder
Weaknesses: As it comes from the box, weak power system as supplied, poor rudder response, light weather/wind strength ability. Canopy hatch retainers are not durable for regular use i.e. they wear, deform, break etc.
Overall: It's from Multiplex so high quality assured. Generally a very good model see the hundreds of threads on the net in support.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

John Edwards wrote on 24/02/2008:
WOULDN'T BE WITHOUT ONE.
Strengths: Reliable all-round flyer with simple aerobatic and soaring capability
Weaknesses: structural design weakness from rear of cabin to front of nose. Too crunchable!
Overall: Recommend it to anyone from beginner onwards.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Ken Milton wrote on 21/02/2008:
MARVELLOUS
Strengths: Very easy to fly & virtually indestructable
Weaknesses: No ailerons
Overall: As my first "real" model, this was fantastic. Very forgiving and very robust, it gave me a lot of confidence
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Derek Small wrote on 14/02/2008:
SIMPLY GREAT FUN
Strengths: Just what it says on the tin!
Weaknesses: Cant think of a single one!
Overall: I have to be honest in that I was rather cynical at first. Then I flew it. I now have a second with a very hot motor and a spare wing set waiting to convert it to ailerons. Just brilliant!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

John Joy wrote on 11/02/2008:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: ease of build
Weaknesses: none i can think of
Overall: 100%
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

JC wrote on 03/02/2008:
A BEGINERS DREAM
Strengths: The easy star requires no previous modeling experience to build.The supplied instructions are very clear and easy to follow.It is the perfect training aircraft in that it is easy to fly and easy to repair.The easy star has a superb glide ratio and sinks very slowly making landings a doddle.
Weaknesses: On the suggested power setup it does struggle to gain height and requires a good shove to get airborne. This will catch the learner out.
Overall: I love this aircraft. I taught myself to fly with it and after many hard arrivals and subsequent repairs it still flys true. With practice you can have the easy star almost out of sight as it will also catch thermals on a warm summers day. Although I have have moved to to larger slightly more complex gliders this still my favorite model to nip over the fields with for a relaxing 15 minutes after work.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

John Melville wrote on 28/01/2008:
GREAT VALUE, A DREAM COME TRUE FOR ANY ABSOLUTE BEGINNER
Strengths: Easy to build, easy to trasport, easy to fly,almost unbreakable - but if you do, easy to repair
Weaknesses: Can only be flown on calm days or in light winds
Overall: Fantastic experience after years of trying to learn to fly with the help of others but with no success the easy star taught me the basics of both power and gliding in a field on my own and after the inevitable crashes and repairs (no new parts needed) she still flies well - I'll keep her for ever.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Janner wrote on 25/01/2008:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: Flies beautifully, Easy to repair.
Weaknesses: The Rudder! Motor & wiring access.
Overall: Great for learning & 'chucking' around the sky!
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

David Ashby - Moderator wrote on 12/07/2007:
ONE OF THE BEST ELECTRIC TRAINERS OF ALL TIME
Strengths: Easy to build, strong, very good flying qualities - an excellent model for beginners.
Weaknesses: None really
Overall: Don't let the simple design fool you, a lot of work has gone into this model to make it one of the best electric trainers of all time, simple as that.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
Pepe Aircraft
CML
Cambridge Gliding Club
Wings & Wheels 2019
Slec
electricwingman 2017
Gliders Distribution
Advertise With Us
Sarik
Do you use a throttle kill switch?
Q: This refers to electric-powered models but do you use a throttle kill switch?

 Yes
 No
 Sometimes
 Rarely

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us