By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Futaba 6EXP 2.4GHz

Manufacturer: Futaba

Find more products by Futaba

Average Rating
No. of Reviews33
RRPN/A

Description: Futaba's first 2.4 GHz system,


R Rigby wrote on 15/10/2013:
GOIOD
Strengths: solid performance
Weaknesses: no pressure adjustment on sticks
Overall: quite good
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Reno Racer wrote on 09/11/2009:
DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN
Strengths: Great value 2.4 gig system that does most task and is easy to program
Weaknesses: cheap case, lack of countdown timer (big shortfall for electric flyers) and RX are far too expensive
Overall: Good, but Spectrum is better value when considering the numbers of RX you have.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Richard Wood wrote on 09/11/2009:
ROCK SOLID PERFORMANCE.
Strengths: Faultless reliability after 18 months of use. The Rx is the star - compact, robust & well engineered. The ability to forget about numbers,pegs & frequency clash worries becomes more appreciated the more you use 2.4GHz. Sufficient features for most sport flyers apart from....
Weaknesses: NO TIMER - a serious omission. Plasticky Tx. Expensive Rx's. NiCads should be replaced.
Overall: Apart from the annoying timer omission, a cracking radio set.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Jeffrey Way wrote on 01/12/2008:
VERY NICE RELIABLE TRANSMITTER
Strengths: Easy programming, nice feel.
Weaknesses: Single dual range switching, poor standard battery, expensive receivers
Overall: I like it a lot
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Jeff Weston wrote on 01/09/2008:
GOOD PIECE OF KIT
Strengths: no interference.it seems a cleaner signal to my servos they move quicker than with 35mhz....i got rx tx switch batt and servos.for 135.oo.bargain for peace of mind.i can concentrate on my flying more and less worry about being shot down...oh and 2 failsafes in the tranny.1 for ch.3 and 1 for rx batt.
Weaknesses: 700mah.batteries.
Overall: easy to use.good price for peace of mind when flying.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Chris Lane wrote on 18/08/2008:
GOOD
Strengths: Small, light, inexpensive. Enough channels for me.
Weaknesses: I like a proportional flap control not a bang-bang switch
Overall: The 2.4gHz advantages like interference rejection, no need for crystals. The recent scare was well handled by Ripmax.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

andy watson wrote on 15/08/2008:
NICE TRANSMITTER
Strengths: 2.4 means no messing around with crystals & pegs. Good price. Works straight out of the box. Does it's job faultlessly.
Weaknesses: 700mA battery a bit weedy (cheap to upgrade) 6 model memory might be a bit small for some. Receivers are about 60 each, which isn't cheap!
Overall: As a beginner this is spot on for me. I see no reason to move up when I move onto more advanced planes until they start to get really complicated.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Phillip Howcroft wrote on 15/08/2008:
GOOD FIRST TX
Strengths: Good value good first set
Weaknesses: manual not that informative.
Overall: Its been ok so faer for a begginner
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Royman wrote on 16/03/2008:
GOOD VALUE
Strengths: gives you overall comfidence because of 2.4G interference rejection
Weaknesses: None that I can see
Overall: An excellent move on from 35F/M
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Arthur Dickson wrote on 14/03/2008:
GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY
Overall: Have use my set for eight months with no problems
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

260 Flyer wrote on 11/03/2008:
ROCK SOLID PERFORMANCE IN A BASIC PACKAGE.
Strengths: Worry free operation (even with the recent zero code problems!) no more yard of wire hanging out the back of the model.
Weaknesses: Limited mixing abilities, non proportional flaps, only 6 model memory capacity. Shipped with NICADS.
Overall: A good basic set spoilt only by penny pinching. These days half-way decent NiMh cells are cheap enough, so why ship with rubbish nicads? The Flap switch has limited use, even a mid position switch setting would have been better than the all or nothing on/off switch. After nine months use I would buy the 6EXP 2.4 GHz again, and that is the best reccomendation I can give!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

TaZ wrote on 08/12/2007:
SUPER UNIT
Strengths: Can be used for Cars and Boats Too
Weaknesses: Have changed battery for a 2200mah !, Now lasts very long time
Overall: No troubles Great !
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

Les Littleton wrote on 07/12/2007:
GOOD VALUE UNIT.
Strengths: WHO,S ON MY CHANNEL ? NO-ONE!
Weaknesses: TX BATTERY
Overall: IF 6 CHANNELS ARE ENOUGH ,THEN THIS IS THE RADIO FOR YOU.BUT COULD DO WITH A BETTER BATTERY IN THE TX AND THE RX UNITS ARN,T CHEAP.BUT EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

derek grace wrote on 05/12/2007:
I HAVE JUST BROUGHT ONE
Overall: and still trying to mix aileron and elevator sothat Ican fly a BLU-ALBACORDE from the internet
Ease of assembly
40%
Build quality
20%
Flight performance
40%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

Scrooge Howard wrote on 02/12/2007:
WOULD`NT BE WITHOUT IT
Strengths: glitch free , even E.D.Fs. frequency clashes , I worry no more
Weaknesses: can`t find any worthy of comment just yet .
Overall: I enjoy owning one , but wish the additional receivers were a bit less pricey & reflected the terific value for money of the original package .
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Buzz wrote on 01/12/2007:
THERES NO COMPROMISE WITH THIS PIECE OF KIT.
Strengths: Price, easy to set up, the shape of things to come.
Overall: 10 out of 10. Don't buy anything else.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

David Stembridge wrote on 01/12/2007:
VERY PLEASED
Strengths: Ease of use. No peg board issues.
Weaknesses: None so Far
Overall: Fantastic value for new technoligy
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Tony Benton wrote on 30/11/2007:
OUTSTANDING UNIT
Strengths: easy to use and to set up
Weaknesses: comes with a small mah battery could be bigger eg 2400 mah
Overall: outstanding model i use this model at bonchester model flying club alongside some spektrum tx units and have found a cone of death for the spektrum models and ran a comparison test on ground at powered down stage aerial pointed at plane at 31 paces spektrum failed to get a response where as the futaba version was still getting response at 48 paces with the aerial pointing directly at the plane
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Chris Bell wrote on 30/11/2007:
GET ONE - NOW !!!
Strengths: easy to setup Rock solid performance,
Weaknesses: small capacity transmitter battery. No flight timer
Overall: After serveral near crashes and one glitch crash - i thought - I'd better give this a go. I'm glad I did wow what a difference. Rock solid and very fast, I felt a difference when flying 35 mhz again.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Nick Church wrote on 30/11/2007:
THE FUTURE
Strengths: Signal locking
Weaknesses: I dont use futaba so the menu system is a bad one for me!
Overall: Good system, i have had reports of glitching and interference but so far so good overall! Oh yes the complete kit is 152.99 from the chelmsford store
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Bri. wrote on 25/11/2007:
FANTASTIC
Strengths: EVERY THING ABOUT IT
Weaknesses: NONE UP TO NOW
Overall: FANTASTIC VALUE EASY TO USE AND TO PROGRAM
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Fly Boy wrote on 25/11/2007:
EXCELLENT VALUE
Strengths: all
Weaknesses: none
Overall: 2.4 the way to go
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Michael Warren wrote on 19/11/2007:
VERY IMPRESSIVE AT THIS PRICE
Strengths: Simple to set up and unbeatable price.
Weaknesses: A bit plasticy and limited Tx battery capacity.
Overall: Excellent bit of kit for most club fliers who want a simple to use 6 channel set.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Eric Smyth wrote on 30/08/2007:
NICE PIECE OF KIT FOR THE MONEY!
Strengths: No more waiting for your channel to become free. Hopefully no more shoot downs!
Weaknesses: Limitation on flaps no fine adjustment. Rates are all on one switch. No visual or audible timer.
Overall: Excellent value for money. The receiver is so easy to install and is a little work of art and miniaturisation! Should contribute immensely to safety on the patch.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Martin McIntosh wrote on 02/08/2007:
2.4 IS THE WAY TO GO WITHOUT DOUBT.
Strengths: Superb radio link, even in a previously very glitchy electric model, and not the slightest problem in a fast aerobat at low level and extreme range.
Weaknesses: The mixers! trying to mix down elevator, say, with left or right rudder results in down with left, up with right. Not a lot of use. May as well use a Y lead! The Tx antenna pops out of its mounting very easily. For a few Pounds more the Tx could have been much better all round. The Tx battery capacity is very limited. Couple of flights and 30 mins later it is flat.
Overall: Glad I bought one to try out 2.4. Should be adequate for most applications. Prefer the flap switch to the previous pot.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Peter Williams wrote on 02/08/2007:
GOOD VALUE
Strengths: Good range and no glitches
Weaknesses: Mixes and trims
Overall: A good buy
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Tom Sharp wrote on 21/07/2007:
GREAT FOR THE GENERAL FLYER, GREAT FOR THE BEGINNER.
Strengths: No sign of interference even with a ducted fan model. Easy to programn. Receiver instalation a doddle. Transmitter much more comfortable to hold without the big arial sticking out. No trailing receiver arial to be damaged. Great value for the money.
Weaknesses: No adjustable flap setting. Rates all on one lever. On/off light should be on the front to remind you to switch off.
Overall: I have seen the future.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Alan Wooster wrote on 21/07/2007:
GREAT!
Strengths: Instantly resolved the problem of frequency clashes or waiting for the pin. Very easy to program. This set will have wide practical appeal - learners through to experts..... Good price too.
Weaknesses: That toggle switch for flaps - backward move..? Also, dual rates for three functions all on one switch seems weak. Tx feels a little 'plasticky' and cheap
Overall: Very good!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Ed Kershaw wrote on 15/07/2007:
RELAIBLE, INEXPENSIVE 6 FUNCTION SET THAT DOES NOT GLITCH
Strengths: Cost; size of receiver; simple rf linking; glitch free with electrics!; better programing than the 6exa 35MHz; relaibility of radio link seems bullet proof.
Weaknesses: TX looks cheap - even compared to the 6exa 35MHz; On/off flap operation (not proportional); Positioning of RX antennae needs care; TX feels a bit unbalanced because the antenna is so short.
Overall: A good and inexpensive entry into the 2.4GHz market. For the large scale electric enthusiast, the most significant benefit is the glitch free operation
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Steve Hale wrote on 13/07/2007:
VERY GOOD FOR FIRST TIME TRAINER
Overall: Very good, ideal for first time
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Doug Evans wrote on 11/07/2007:
SUPERB!!
Strengths: 2.4g!!
Weaknesses: could have more mixing on the set!!
Overall: 9/10!!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

the unmagnificent man wrote on 10/07/2007:
BRILLIANT
Strengths: No worries about being shot down or shooting down someone else. Useable in more than 1 country. Suitable if you have boats or cars as well. Able to buddy with 35mhz futaba systems with the same square socket
Weaknesses: The channel for the flaps has had its potentiometer replaced by a on off switch. no fine adjustment for the flaps. only 6 model memories and a poxy 700mah transmitter battery.
Overall: Having owned a Futaba 6 EXP 2.4 for a couple of months now i thought I would share my findings with anyone who may be interested. I bought it when 2.4 became legal in France back in April. My main reason for buying the 2.4 was so that it would be possible to fly legally in both England and France without the need to change receivers and transmitters, another added bonus was that I have an expensive nitro powered boat which can also now be run with the same trustworthy transmitter. After buying the transmitter i decided to do some range checks. The results were to say the least, absolutely incredible. At ground level we managed to have the servos working correctly sitting in a cardboard box testbed whilst on the back seat of my car at a distance of one and a half Kilometers (about a mile) and then I drove to a bridge 2.4 kilometers away and due to the extra height the thing still worked, again inside the box and inside my car even though it says that signal will be lost if something sheilds the signal. This means that i could fly my model well out of sight and yet still be able to control the flight surfaces. There are downsides however, the flaps potentiometer/dial has been replaced with a switch. This is rubbish for a fine movement as the flaps are just "on" or "off." As for prevention of flying with the wrong model memory, well unfortunately model 1 will still fly in model 2 memory mode if you are forgetful. The irratic flying tends to remind you though. Luckily it is possible to match this system via a buddy lead with existing Futaba 35Mhz sets as long as they have the square peg, so if the irratic flying happens you can pass it to your buddy for him to sort out. I agree with the review in the mag that the receiver is a fantastic piece of kit small sturdy light and full range as well as easy to lock onto your transmitter, they are cheap enough to if you source them fromm the internet. I managed to buy two for 84 including the postage. Compare that to some of the receivers out there. Futaba made some cut backs as well, I didnt like the poxy 700Mah battery pack they stick in the back but hey they dont charge that much for the tranny in the first place. One last thing. Even though there is no chance of shooting down another model on 2.4 its still adviseable to put 2.4 pegs on your board at the club! Why? well whilst your flying and enjoying yourself there is the possibility that some poor so and so on the "old" sytem looks on the board, doesnt see a 35Mhz peg and just thinks you have forgot to place a peg and is frightened to mither you whilst flying, or switch on in case of a shoot down. Then when he finds out that he could have switched on when he arrived may cause a little animosity. After flying 2.4 i will not go back to 35Mhz. Hope this helps someone. Alan.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

David Ashby - Moderator wrote on 09/07/2007:
DOES WHAT IT SAYS..
Strengths: 2.4 works, no problems whatsoever so far. Cheap..
Weaknesses: Cheap casing, limited functions even at the price.
Overall: Cheap yet effective, albeit with limited functions. The little R606 receiver is a revelation though.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Latest Forum Posts
Support Our Partners
Pepe Aircraft
electricwingman 2017
Revoc
Wings & Wheels 2019
Motion RC
Slec
Gliders Distribution
CML
Advertise With Us
Sarik
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Does your club have a safety officer?
Q: Does your club have a safety officer, or is the emphasis on individual members to each be their own safety officer?

 Yes we have a SO
 No, it's down to everyone

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us