By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

JR PCM9X2

Manufacturer: JR

Find more products by JR

Average Rating
No. of Reviews7
RRPN/A

Scotty Flys Ultimate Bipes wrote on 17/02/2011:
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Chris Cole wrote on 08/03/2009:
FANTASTIC RADIO
Strengths: Very easy to program
Weaknesses: Throttle cut switch combined with timer
Overall: This is an excellent radio nice feel well balanced very good programing software
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Mark Burnham wrote on 04/03/2008:
A GREAT RADIO, WITH A NICE FEEL.
Strengths: Large LCD screen offers a lot of information wether its setting servo direction, expotential or programming helicopter curves
Weaknesses: Some functions can be under odd menues, like switch functions.
Overall: Very good piece of kit, great for buddying when teaching just not enough space here to sing the praises.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

G wrote on 26/02/2008:
WONDERFULLY POWERFUL PROGRAMMING
Strengths: Superb programmability for complex planes such as six-servo gliders, and available at a great price.
Weaknesses: Can be a bit tricky to programme
Overall: This is a fantastic transmitter. It's probably the most commonly used transmitter by US show pilots and experts, but not so common in the UK for some reason. The only problem is that all this power takes a few brain cells to programme. People argue about whether this or a top-end Multiplex is the best transmitter of all, but look at the price of this one, it costs considerably less. So this is definitely the best value of the high end transmitters.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Mike Healy wrote on 16/11/2007:
IF YOU CAN'T DO IT WITH THIS, TAKE UP GOLF!
Strengths: Huge memory, very solid, big screen, fully loaded, logical (reasonably)programming - a mans radio!
Weaknesses: Mechanical selection of frequency allows radiated R/F when set is switched on without screen check (unlike the cheaper 2720 set), and also the 3 model type is a pain - the US versions have dedicated Aero or Heli versions.
Overall: This set is not perfect, but as close to it as the average club flier can ever be likely to need - and then some! The manual is, as always in my opinion, unneccessarily complex, and unless you have a particularly good talent in techno-speak, it is as complex as ever, and as such, most of the programming is done on a trial and error basis - but it's the same with all the current generation of sets as far as I can tell. The fully synthesised version will cover virtually all the models I am ever likely to build and fly, and then some - 30 memories should suffice for most needs - if not, you've got too many models, and should be able to buy the PCM 12 instead! Whilst the fully synthetic (sorry, synthesised!) r/f is a great concept for us who have several different channels in use, it needs caution and care when switching-on to check that you have the correct peg clearance, and the model is correctly identified - there is full r/f transmitted from switch-on immediately, with no verification required, so caution is required, unless you have the DSC cord option, which allows all the controls to be operated and checked using the TX linked direct to the charging socket on the model - a very worthwhile accessory, and one which should be included in the box. Of course, the eagerly awaited DSX9, due in March 2008, should do away with this problem, and make this set a very hard to beat one. Well done, JR!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Roy Holmes wrote on 25/10/2007:
GREAT
Overall: Glad I bought it
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Derek Small wrote on 08/10/2007:
MY DO IT ALL SET!
Strengths: Thirty memories - plenty of channels for most uses - handles most of my fleet - relativeley easy to use - quality feel - never let me down - synthesized module - useable mixing with not too much to challenge a non- computer person like me.
Weaknesses: Not enough safeguards re channel safety with module. Could do with better instructions on 'how and why' to use mixes for those just moving to a higher end computer set.Current instructions just tell how to operate the mixes and assume a new user will know the rest.
Overall: I can take half a dozen models out, chop and change from one to another with no trim changing, and absolute confidence in the link.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
CML
Pepe Aircraft
Slec
Revoc
electricwingman 2017
Gliders Distribution
Wings & Wheels 2019
Motion RC
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Does your club have a safety officer?
Q: Does your club have a safety officer, or is the emphasis on individual members to each be their own safety officer?

 Yes we have a SO
 No, it's down to everyone

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us