By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Futaba FF9 / 9C Super

Manufacturer: Futaba

Find more products by Futaba

Average Rating
No. of Reviews16
RRPN/A

Description: Launched in 2002/3 this system is commonly known as the Field Force 9. It launched the click-wheel facility and user programming that was far easier than previous computer systems. It's still extremely popular. 2.4Ghz modules will enhance it's flexibility.


Engine Doctor wrote on 01/10/2010:
GREAT RELIABLE TX
Strengths: Easy to programme comfortable and well balanced
Weaknesses: Chrome on facia lifts and bubbles and some plastic parts soften and break after long use wich is dissapointing from such a well known manufacturer
Overall: overall its an excellent Tx thats simple to use with easy to understand screen .Rock solid performance with both futaba modules and aftermarket 2.4 set ups
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

twilightflyer wrote on 01/03/2010:
GREAT PIECE OF KIT
Strengths: I like the sheer quality of this TX and the reliabilty, with more than enough switches to meet every eventuality.
Weaknesses: It gets a bit of getting used to the layout of the menus
Overall: I like the ability to update this TX to 2.4 which I have, I have fitter the Jeti Duplex mdule which is able to use telemtry in real time which the Futabe module dosent have.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Ralph Yeates wrote on 23/03/2009:
GREAT RADIO FOR THE PRICE
Strengths: fully programmable and the ability to move switches about apart from the 4 main gimbals
Weaknesses: limited to 7 channels on 2.4
Overall: great radio more functions than the average modeler needs and backed up by good after market books on the programming
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Trevor Parsons wrote on 22/11/2008:
FANTASTIC RADIO, PROGRAMING COMPREHENSIVE BUT EASY TO USE,
Strengths: Convertible to 2.4 either Futaba module or Spektrum, My preference the DSM2 Spektrum which works faultlessly, much more neatly than the Futaba system in my opinion.
Weaknesses: Switches can be vulnerable but no more than any other radio set i have used.
Overall: A good all radio which is proving future proof so far, whats next I wonder.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Alan Florence wrote on 14/08/2008:
GUARANTEED TO IMPROVE YOUR FLYING
Strengths: very versatile
Weaknesses: takes awhile to familiarise yourself with all its menus and what you can achieve
Overall: excellent TX unit for the money and phone around for a good deal
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Dave Davies 3 wrote on 01/08/2008:
BRILLIANT
Strengths: easy to program comfortable to hold good good quality
Weaknesses: none
Overall: a fantastic transmitter
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Simon Barton-Jones wrote on 02/06/2008:
DOES EVERY THING I WANT AND MORE
Strengths: Solid and reliable with more than enough switches and buttons to cover every eventuality
Weaknesses: The covering seems to wrinkle with nitro fuel on it even if its just the excess after tuning the engine
Overall: A great piece of kit
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Jonathan Lewzey wrote on 31/03/2008:
CAPABLE, ADAPTABLE AND COMFORTABLE
Strengths: All the features and functions a sport flyer will want. Good number of model memories with aditional ones available through a campac. Comfortable to use. Synthesised module for easy channel switching. Compatibility with 2.4 ghz systems.
Weaknesses: Not yet available only in 2.4. Instructions only in flow charts -sometimes hard to find information
Overall: An excellent investment for any radio control flyer. Futaba quality and reliability. I can't think of a better 35 mhz transmitter.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Martin Harris wrote on 20/03/2008:
GOOD AND CAPABLE TRANSMITTER
Strengths: Easy to program if you have experience of Futaba systems. Good range of mixes - including free mixes (unlike Tony Charnock's, mine has 7 free mixes including 2 with 5 point curves and I've used throttle to elevator mixes on several occasions)
Weaknesses: Instructions would cause a beginner some head scratching. Silver coating wrinkles and comes away.
Overall: I have used mine for @4 years and have had no problems or regrets. It has done everything I wanted it to. I would, and have, recommended one to friends.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

iawnski wrote on 12/03/2008:
LOVE IT
Strengths: easy to use
Weaknesses: none yet
Overall: a fine tranny adapts to 2.4ghz when im ready
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Chris Dowsett wrote on 07/03/2008:
AHEAD OF IT'S TIME. ADAPTS TO 2.4GHZ
Strengths: Relability, dial, battery monitor, buddy lead, balance, battery accessibility, programability, 2.4GHz capability
Weaknesses: Changing RF modules almost needs a tool. There must be better ways of implementing digital trims (not as good as analogs). Difficult to get away from standard model set ups, for example, crow braking and/or conventional flaps/air brakes. Buddy box set up must be fully tested. Do not like charger socket. Could do with better 'ring tones' and it is not easy reading battery volts. TM7 2.4GHz module looks Heath Robinson when installed
Overall: Had mine 5 years. Never missed a beat. Dropped it a couple of times - does not bounce much. Had a switch lever pop out. Ripmax supplied spares straight from stock. Used mainly for aerobatics slope and power. Cannot say how many hours but the timer has been round the clock several times. Only one crash - vertical dive from a reversal. Nothing to do with the FF9 (Bad design of connector on elevator servo).
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Mike Martin wrote on 09/09/2007:
A SUPER SET.
Strengths: Nice balance feels like a quality unit.
Weaknesses: Fiddly between menus.
Overall: Value for money
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Brian Coe wrote on 31/08/2007:
EXCELLENT VALUE FOR ITS PRICE.
Strengths: It offers a full range of programmable options that seem to cover all my needs. I like the large screen.
Weaknesses: The programming is not the most intuitive, I don't like 'inhibited'. Could have simpler linking between the options
Overall: Damn good value for money that is very reliable and comprehensive.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Tony Charnock wrote on 03/08/2007:
VERY GOOD
Strengths: Easy to program even without manual, comfortable in the hand well balanced. Have a campac module which gives 32 model memories.
Weaknesses: No free mixers cannot link throttle to elevator. Would suggest an adjustable ball joint on aerial like other Txs., so it stays vertical when Tx is held at normal angle
Overall: Good value, easy to use, well pleased with mine & cannot wait for the 2.4Ghz conversion modules to be available especially the one by Graupner.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Andy Butler wrote on 30/07/2007:
SHEER CLASS
Strengths: A multitude of mixing capabilities. Fully assignable switches, sliders and sticks.
Weaknesses: Instruction manual good but not great.
Overall: This system will take you where you want to go, whatever your discipline.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Andrew tompkins wrote on 27/07/2007:
A BENCHMARK SYSTEM THAT'S STILL UP WITH THE BEST OF THEM
Strengths: Easy to use, good screen, intuitive menus. Reliable, Futaba quality.
Weaknesses: Could have more memories, expandable by campac though. Instruction manual an afterthought?
Overall: Futaba lead the way.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
CML
Pepe Aircraft
Slec
Revoc
electricwingman 2017
Gliders Distribution
Wings & Wheels 2019
Motion RC
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Does your club have a safety officer?
Q: Does your club have a safety officer, or is the emphasis on individual members to each be their own safety officer?

 Yes we have a SO
 No, it's down to everyone

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us