By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Black Horse Travel Air

Manufacturer: Black Horse

Find more products by Black Horse

Average Rating
No. of Reviews16
RRPN/A

Cliff Bastow wrote on 29/12/2013:
GOOD FOR THE MONEY. GREAT FIRST LOW WINGER
Strengths: easy to build. Good flight envelope
Weaknesses: U/c mounting is rubbish. I have had two and ripped it out of both with easy landings.
Overall: Great first low winger. Considering the price the construction is fine, just beef up the u/c mounting and go and get your B
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Hogster wrote on 05/03/2012:
GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY
Strengths: Flies well. Quick to build. Pre hinged a nd pinned control surfaces.
Weaknesses: I had to modify the wing servo trays as there wasn`t enough wood to secure the servo with four screws. The undercarriage is pretty solid and unforgiving of heavy landings. I fitted carbon fibre u/c. Covering easily punctured. Instructions not as clear as they could be.
Overall: This is my second Travel Air as I was very impressed with my first one which I bought secondhand. It flies very well and can easily handle advanced aerobatics but is also very forgiving of mistakes. The build quality good be improved but for the price and with a little mod here and there it makes a for good allrounder and perfect follow on from a high wing trainer.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

JC wrote on 13/10/2010:
STRESS FREE FLYING
Strengths: Price, flys itself, good looks, versatile,price, price price.
Weaknesses: Hard to find fault in a model this inexpensive but I'll go for the covering that is easily perforated. It could do with a set of spats.
Overall: For a tenner more than the cost of a 2.4 RX you cannot go wrong. It goes together in one evening and you need a couple of hours the next night to fit the radio. The fixtures and fittings are good enough for the job. I put an OS 46 LA in mine but an SC 40 would do just as well. On its maiden it flew its self of the deck and flew hands off without a click of trim needed. I struggle with landings at our small patch but the Travel Air virtually landed its self. Just lined it up and used the throttle trim to reduce the revs and it settled for a three pointer with very little input from me. A great model. Ideal for a first low winger. I love it.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Chris Foley wrote on 15/11/2009:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: Well built for the money, Stable flyer
Weaknesses: Really did not find any.
Overall: Great second plane if you want to go to a low winger.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Buzz wrote on 17/08/2008:
GREAT FIRST LOW WINGER.
Strengths: Great flyer, very stable in the air and an ideal plane for learning aerobatics. Good price and easy to build and repair.
Weaknesses: Undercarrage mounting very weak and pulled out after 5 landings.
Overall: Overall, a nice plane and really ideal as a first low wing trainer or every day flying.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Jeremy Scott-hake wrote on 04/07/2008:
BRILLIANT CHEAP EVERY DAY FLYER
Strengths: flies well in all weathers can be hand launched, short field take offs and landings, later ones have better wood for easy repairs . upright engine for ease of use
Weaknesses: undercarrage fixings and brittle covering (shatters in freezing weather)
Overall: I am on my second one first poor wood one was flown crashed and repaired many times and finally was a mid air victim! the second one is now in its 3rd season flown most weekends rain or shine frost or sun . both had ply reinforced undercarridge mounts with j perkins wire undercarridge (bounce factor to save shocks) it the fus has been snapped in half 3 times and had a new front section grafted on but still flies very well !. mine has a high milage irvine 46 still runs well starts first time . Overall a fuss free well priced every day plane a joy to fly .
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

David Stoner wrote on 30/06/2008:
GREAT LOW WINGER, CHEAP & EASY TO FIX
Strengths: Except for undercarriage mounting faily robust & quick to build.
Weaknesses: U/C plate useless, replace it before flying, also 2 part carriage too heavy & unyielding, covering wrinkles with age but can be sorted.
Overall: Simple, easy to fly with just a few mods to beef it up where it counts, mine still going strong after 4 years
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Nathan Baker wrote on 23/06/2008:
EXCELLENT FIRST LOW-WING WITH A 46-2STR
Strengths: dirt cheap - easy to build/fly/repair. brilliant low-wing trainer
Weaknesses: the wood(?) is a the usually iffy far-eastern stuff and the covering will start to lift after a couple of seasons, but nothing that cant be fixed. u/c mounting is iffy as is the 2-piece alu u/c - I beefed mine up and replace u/c with a single-piece one with nylon bolts. Pilot looks distinctly dodgy - I painted the canopy silver to hide the little terror!
Overall: It's stable and forgiving to fly, will do basic aerobatics loops,rolls,stall-turns,inverted, etc... - it can be flown slowly or fast - it practically hovers with flaperons set up :) I put a J'en 56 in mine but it practically ripped the wings off, now it's much nicer with an OS46LA up front and it's still fast if you need it to be. IMHO, it's the perfect Sunday hack that you can pick up for around 55 at a model show.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Steve Bontoft wrote on 23/06/2008:
TOO FAST FOR OLD EYES, IT CANT BE FLOWN SLOW
Overall: came with instructions missing, importers could not, or could not be bothered to send me them, will not use thm again
Ease of assembly
40%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
40%
Value for money
20%
Overall
20%

Bing wrote on 23/06/2008:
A GOOD MODEL TO FOLLOW A TRAINER AT AN AFFORDABLE PRICE.
Strengths: The aerobatics that can be performed with this model are breathtaking, and having read the the other reviews about undercarriage weakness I have no problems with the tail-dragger version. No problems with landing, it doesn't seem to drop a wing like some of trainers I've flown.I think this will be the aircraft to take us to "B" certificate.
Weaknesses: Have not found any yet.
Overall: Good value for money, easy to set up, looks the part in the air.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

COLIN MILNE wrote on 22/06/2008:
GREAT FIRST LOW WING MODEL
Strengths: price, style, general build quality
Weaknesses: covering, undercaridge mount
Overall: this is a great intro to a low wing model with great value for money. however there ar a few shortcominmgs with this budget airframe.This was my move on model from my trainer and overall I was delighted with the presentation , packaging and overall apperance of the model. The build was straight forward with the instructions easy to follow. It fly's well and is very forgiving as a low wing trainer.However at our strip the long outfield grass has a full set of teeth and the undercaridge was ripped ot fairley easily.I modified the mounting plate with a double layer of 6mm light ply and increased the glue area by introducing some hardwood bearers. This has improved the undercart and I strognley recommend this is carried out before your first flight. The covering has a smart appeance but it is easily punctured . Whats more its more like a sticky back plastic than a standard shrink film that proves a little difficult to patch should the need arise.Would I recommend it to others? Of course I would I love it.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

eugene jordan wrote on 18/06/2008:
GREAT FIRST LOW WINGER
Strengths: value for money,simple to set up, flies great for first low winger, does everthing, Simple construction
Weaknesses: undercarriage and fixing point
Overall: bought as sunday hack , u/c broke off early and did damage to wing and hoz/tailplane totaly, replaced wood and fixings for u/c, metal bolts to keep it on plane, to easy to damage model when it comes off
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Derek Stevenson wrote on 16/06/2008:
GOOD PRICE
Strengths: stable flight and good ground control. Super first low winger after trainer.
Weaknesses: Undercarriage is poor. where the metal struts meet there is a fitting which is not strong enough for purpose. If you crash it which most do as first step up the wood quality is awful and repair is difficult because of this.
Overall: It did it's job as a first low wing trainer. I must admit to repairing it a couple of times before putting it "in" at full tilt. Black bin bag job.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Alasdair MacGillivray wrote on 16/06/2008:
TERRIFIC
Strengths: Simple build - instructions not brilliant (pictures do not match up to the text!) - the pictures however do make things easy and it is simple enough to work out which text should go with which image. Terrific to fly - does basic aerobatics yet flies like a trainer if you want. Take-offs simple - virtually hands-off each time - landings with no wind can sometimes mean speed is a bit quick - actually easier to land when a wind is blowing - however do not let this put you off - I am sure it is just my lack of ability.
Weaknesses: As reported by others, the undercarriage and fixing to the fus is not good. I changed the U/C for a more flexible one (the Ripmax dural U/C) and also discarded the metal bolts and fitted nylon ones. Now if (when!) I have a heavy landing the bolts snap and U/C comes off cleanly, and the fus is not damaged by the metal bolts pulling out the fixings of the wood.
Overall: Even though I now fly other planes, the Travel Air will always be my fall-back for a nice relaxed, yet not too docile, flight.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Aero120 wrote on 16/06/2008:
GREAT
Strengths: Simple construction, flies brilliantly
Weaknesses: Undercarriage mount is just a bit stronger than a waffer. Heavy covering.
Overall: My travelair was bought as a hack to get me used to flying again having had a break for fifteen years. Three years later I still fly it regularly. The undercarriage collapsed on a very gentle landing as the piece of wood the legs attach to is too brittle. This was fixed and I've fully recovered the plane in solar film, ditched the hideous pilot that comes as standard and fitted snakes instead of the metal push rods. This probably cost me as much as the kit did, but the weight loss was significant and the plane looks and flies great and can carry a video camera. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZkQjMmvXss This was filmed from my Travelair
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Jonathan Lewzey wrote on 15/06/2008:
PROBABLY THE BEST VALUE FOR MONEY LOW WING TRAINER
Strengths: Cheap. Simple. Forgiving flying characteristics. Quick to build.
Weaknesses: Some materials (particularly around U/C area) are too soft/unsuitable. Instruction manual is good in terms of pictures, but the text (translation) is simply awful!!!
Overall: In my opinion, the Black horse Travel Air is THE low wing trainer and B certificate model. It builds rapidly, requiring no specialist techniques. The engine bay is open and easy to access. Sometimes, a model is very good during the build but fails where it really matters - at the field. My example has probably 250-300 flights in 2 years and still going strong. Gorund handling is fantastic. the powerful rudder and steerable tail wheel make taxis easy. Once airborne, it flies as straight as an arrow - a real beginners pattern model. It has superb stall characteristics and can be slowed down very slowly for landings. My Travel air has an OS46AX and can perform some vertical maneouvres. It bunts perfectly, loops from level flight, has a good roll rate and spins adequately. Other moves it can do are farnborough pass, top hat, continuous loops/bunts/rolls, stall turns and many more. On landing, it can come in a bit fast, so I use a large landing circuit. Flaperons might help here. My Travel Air uses 35mhz futaba gear (R138DF & S3004 servos) with a 1200 mah nimh. It is the most reliable aircraft in my fleet. Buy one, and you will never have to worry about not having something to fly. (providing you don't crash it!)
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Support Our Partners
CML
Pepe Aircraft
Slec
Revoc
electricwingman 2017
Gliders Distribution
Wings & Wheels 2019
Motion RC
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
Does your club have a safety officer?
Q: Does your club have a safety officer, or is the emphasis on individual members to each be their own safety officer?

 Yes we have a SO
 No, it's down to everyone

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us